Apple Muffins with Graham Cracker Streusel

Apple Muffins with Graham Cracker Streusel

I thought I would start this post with a confession. I like to pretend that all the things I bake are super awesome and that I’m a perfect baker and I never screw up. At least, that’s what I tell myself and I like to give that impression on my blog. That’s totally not true though.

See one of my problems as a baker is I like to come up with my own recipes from scratch. Either that or I like to modify the hell out of preexisting recipes. Sometimes this is a good thing. Other times, it is disastrous. I feel like I’m eight again and throwing random ingredients into the MixMaster and forcing my parents to taste whatever came out of the oven. Let’s just say that even though something has butter, eggs, flour, and the usual suspects in it doesn’t mean that it’s going to taste good. Then again when you’re eight, you feel proud of yourself even though the chocolate chip filled doughy mess you’ve created is just that: a chocolate chip filled doughy mess.
Apple Muffins with Graham Cracker Streusel

Last weekend, I was so totally set to bring you the most awesome, amazing muffins that could have been: s’mores muffins. Obviously that didn’t happen (although I did manage some kick-ass cinnamon graham cracker cookies). My muffins were sad. The marshmallows completely disappeared and the chocolate chips were kind of burnt. However, the worst part is, they didn’t taste like muffins. They tasted and had a similar texture to overcooked chocolate chip pancakes. I love pancakes, I really do, but pancakes are not muffins and puffins are not baked goods, they are birds. Point being, I failed. However, that made me even more determined to bake some muffins and bake them well. I decided to bake the fluffiest, moistest (points if you don’t cringe at that word), and most delicious muffins ever. So I did. I bring you: apple muffins (with streusel of course)!
Apple Muffins with Graham Cracker Streusel

Apple Muffins with Graham Cracker Streusel:

Preheat oven to 375°F

Muffins:

1 stick of butter softened

1/2 c sugar

1/4 c brown sugar

1 egg

1/2 c milk

3/4 c apple sauce

2 c flour

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp vanilla

1 tbsp cinnamon

2 large apples peeled and chopped

1. Mix all the ingredients together in a bowl except for the apples.

2. Peel and chop the apples into chunks

3. Stir in the apple chunks

Streusel:

1/4 c brown sugar

1/2 stick of butter (cold)

2 1/2 crushed graham crackers

1/2 tsp vanilla

1. Mix the ingredients together with your hands until it forms a nice crumbly streusel. You may need to add another graham cracker if you want a crumblier consistency.

2. Sprinkle liberally over the muffins.

3. Put muffins in the oven and bake for 25-30 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.

image

6 thoughts on “Apple Muffins with Graham Cracker Streusel

  1. I’ve had a few baking busts, too. I recently made apple muffins that just weren’t right – the batter was too thin. They still tasted pretty good though. Next time I’ll try these. I especially like the idea of a graham cracker streusel. Sounds great!

    • Hi Megan, thanks for the comment! I’m glad to know that I’m not the only one who’s had trouble with muffins. I really hope you give these a try and enjoy them :). The graham cracker streusel turned out to be a really nice addition (I wasn’t quite sure how it would turn out)!

  2. Bahahahaha! I’m so glad to know that I’m not the only one. The other day I made cookies. They sucked. So I decided to add half of the recipe to the original dough, with modifications. The sun was going down. I needed to take pictures. These cookies had to happen fast. I put them in the oven and 10 minutes later they had become cookie soup, spread allll over my pan. I wanted to tear my hair out. That was when I noticed the bowl of dry ingredients that I had forgotten to put in. PS Graham cracker streusel? Will wonders never cease?

    • Oh jeez, that sounds like something I would do! Baking can be such a disaster sometimes haha. I hope you managed to redo them and take pictures. Also, thanks! I had a box of graham crackers that I needed to use so I figured why not?

  3. i am the complete opposite of you!! i almost never modify a recipe because i am such a wimp.. I am always afraid i would mess up and waste all that ingredients that went into it!

    • That’s definitely a much more practical way to go about it! I feel like I waste a ton of stuff every time one of my recipes tanks. I’d like to think it’s worth it though because I consider it a learning experience and feel like it helps me become more adept at baking :). That being said, there’s nothing wrong with sticking to a tried and true recipe–they’re established/popular for a reason right?

Leave a comment