Cinnamon Shortbread Apple Bars

P1010403 - Version 2

It’s finally fall! Or at least theoretically. In New England, seasons mean very little since the weather is so mercurial. Of course until it’s December and we get pummeled with snow. Anyway, so fall on the east coast inevitably includes apple picking. Some of my best friends at school are actually from California so I decided that they definitely needed the experience, not to mention the cider donuts. You can’t forget about the donuts. Ever. That being said, we ended up with a ton of apples. All the better to bake things with my dears ;). I’m taking a class on fairytales this semester. Can you tell?

So I thought these shortbread bars were fantastic, obviously I’m a bit biased. However, if it’s any indicator, my fruit-hating boyfriend even said they were good so I’ll take that as a pretty good sign.

Cinnamon Shortbread Apple Bars:

Preheat oven to 325°F

I used my trusty 8×8 pan, feel free to double the recipe to fit a 9×13 pan.

Ingredients:

Crust/Topping:

2 sticks of butter softened
1/2 c. granulated sugar (feel free to add a bit more if you like things sweet)
1/2 tsp. cornstarch (feel free to use 1 c. powdered sugar instead of the sugar/cornstarch combo)
1 tsp. cinnamon
2 c. flour with a tablespoon removed

1. Mix ingredients together until they form a dough. I suggest using your hands.
2. Knead the dough for two minutes
3. Press about half the dough into baking pan and then bake for 12 minutes

*You’ll need about a tablespoon of flour to add to the remaining half of your dough base to make it more crumble like.

Apple Filling:

-5-6 apples (pick your favorites, but probably stay away from Golden Delicious, they tend to be mushy in desserts)
Juice of 1 lemon (or 2 Tbsp orange juice)
-2 tsp cinnamon
-1/3 c. flour
-3/4 c sugar
-1 tsp vanilla

1. Peel the apples.
2. Cut the apples into either small cubes or thin slices.
3. Mix together the ingredients until the apples are coated.
4. After the crust comes out of the oven pour the apples on top and then top those with the remaining dough, be sure you added a bit more flour (1-2 Tbsp.) to it for a crumble-like consistency.
5. Return to the oven and bake for ~35 minutes or until golden brown.

Enjoy!

8 thoughts on “Cinnamon Shortbread Apple Bars

  1. These look so good! Love the crumb topping, definitely going to be a new autumn bake for me 🙂
    Oh, and your improvisation on a bowl is great!

    • Haha, yep, I know exactly what you’re talking about. Boyfriend’s comment was essentially: “These would be really good if I liked fruit, but I don’t.” Thanks so much though! I personally thought they came out really well :).

Leave a Reply

