Snickerdoodle Bars

image

Cinnamony goodness all the way!

There are definite disadvantages to baking in your dorm room. Namely, the lack of proper tools. These bars came together in a super thick dough, which would have been better served by a mixmaster. Of course, all I had was my handy dandy whisk. Have I mentioned that I pretty much mix everything with a whisk because I found it to be the most versatile? Yea, I’m weird, anyway so due to this lack of mix master I am forced to work out my impressive arm muscles. And by impressive I mean wimpy. Now I have a blister on my hand from mixing too hard. I actually had to stop halfway through and get Boyfriend to mix the rest for me. You see what I suffer through for my readers? Just kidding ;). However, these bars were worth it. That blister was totally okay with me as soon as I took these out of the oven and cut myself a piece way before they had a chance to cool down. They are amazing. Super dense and super sweet once you put the icing on. Yes, I know I made another boring brown dessert, but if you don’t make these that’s your loss. Means more for me! 😀
image


Snickerdoodle Bars:

Preheat oven to 350°F

Sort of adapted from Sally’s Baking Addiction (I changed it a lot, but her recipe definitely inspired me.)

Bars:

2 1/2  c flour

1 1/4 tsp baking powder

Pinch of salt

2 sticks of butter softened

3/4 c sugar

1 c brown sugar

2 eggs

1 egg yolk

1 tsp vanilla

2 tsp cinnamon

1. Preheat oven to 350°F

2. Mix all the ingredients together per usual. The dough will be very thick.

3. Spread the dough in an even layer into a 9×13 baking pan.

4. Bake for about 22 minutes or until a knife (or toothpick) stuck in comes out clean.

Icing

1/2 c powdered sugar

1/4 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp vanilla

Add milk until the consistency is to your liking

5. Wait until the bars cool and then drizzle the icing over the top.

image

2 thoughts on “Snickerdoodle Bars

Leave a Reply

