Milky Way Peanut Butter Cookies

image

Growing up in a house with a doctor and a Californian (my dad and mom respectively) meant a lot of things in terms of food I was allowed to eat. These cookies are a direct violation of all the health rules I was taught growing up, as are most of the things I bake. Don’t get me wrong, I love eating healthy. I mean that seriously, I like my vegetables and am perfectly happy to eat all things organic. In fact, I prefer it. However, at the same time I get a secret thrill from eating the foods I was forbidden as a child. I was one of those kids who would intentionally go over to a friend’s house instead of vice versa just because they always had better snacks.
image

So let me tell you how these cookies violate my health code. They have creamy processed peanut butter, which apparently is the ideal peanut butter for baking (Mom, if you’re reading this, I promise that I eat organic peanut butter otherwise although I’m not going to lie, I may have dug into the jar of Jif with a spoon after I was done baking…). Also, there are some Milky Ways, again eating candy, which until I was about ten was a once a week treat.

Then again, these cookies were so delicious that I only feel a little bit bad about baking with illicit ingredients. I mean c’mon it’s a baking blog, I can only make things so healthy without going vegan or something like that.
image

*Also note to Boyfriend: If you leave candy at my place it is going to be baked into something. You have been warned.

Milky Way Peanut Butter Cookies:

Preheat oven to 350°F

1 stick of butter softened

3/4 cup peanut butter

1 c brown sugar

1 egg

1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla

1 tsp baking soda

1 1/3 c flour

12-15 mini Milky Ways chopped into quarters

Instructions:

1. Mix all your wet ingredients (peanut butter, butter, egg, sugar, and vanilla) together.

2. Add in your flour and baking soda

3. Fold in chopped Milky Ways in order to avoid squishing them

4. Refrigerate dough for ~30 minutes

5. Put balls of dough on greased cookie sheet. A word of advice: check to make sure that none of the Milky Ways are touching the cookie sheet. You should only have dough touching it to make sure the bottoms of the cookies don’t burn and stick.

6. Bake for 8-9 minutes

7. Eat straight off cookie sheet…or wait if you feel like doing it properly ;). Take a guess at which one I did.

image

11 thoughts on “Milky Way Peanut Butter Cookies

  1. They look delicious! Love that peanut butter just oozing its way out … Growing up, it was my house all the kids would come over to and raid the kitchen cupboards for treats! But, over the years that slowly changed and now you’d be lucky to find a cookie (unless I buy it myself or bake it, of course).

    • Hi Nazia! Thanks for the comment. Ooey gooey cookies are the absolute best in my opinion! It’s actually kind of ironic, but my parents seem to have MORE sweets and junk food in the house since I’ve grown up/moved out.

    • I definitely agree! Natural and organic, makes me feel better about myself, but when it comes to taste I can’t pass up the sugary goodness of JIF! And thanks so much for the comment and the follow!

  2. Pingback: Keep Calm and Eat Cookies | CRISMA FOOD HAVEN

Leave a Reply

