Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

image

I do not like bananas. As a general rule, I find them gross and stringy and they give you REALLY bad breath. If you ask me to eat them plain I will probably hate you, but put them into something,  now that is a different story. I am willing to accept severe halitosis for a crepe filled with Nutella and bananas.
image

It’s a good thing that I do like bananas when they’re combined with sugar because banana bread was a staple in my house when I was growing up. There always seemed to be mushy overripe bananas lying around (I feel like this is a common problem in most households) so my dad took it upon himself to turn those into breakfast (and lunch, snack, dinner, and more snack). Mom cooked dinner, but dad was in charge of baking and making pancakes. In retrospect, I don’t know why we liked the banana bread so much. It wasn’t too great and had a distinctly bitter aftertaste.

The funny thing is, my mom also had a banana bread recipe. This recipe was SO much better, but for some reason it seldom got used. I should really ask my dad at some point where he got his recipe from and if I’m the only one who had problems with the taste. Maybe I’m just too picky :p. Anyway, so I decided to have a go at my own recipe in the hopes that it could appeal to even my picky tastebuds. I mean lets be honest though, a bitter aftertaste is a pretty good indicator that a recipe needs to be revamped.
image

Chocolate Chip Banana Bread:

Bake at 350° F

1 stick of butter (softened)

1/2 c brown sugar

1/2 c sugar

2 eggs

1 tsp vanilla

2 c flour

3 bananas

1/2 c applesauce

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp baking powder

Chocolate chips to taste

Instructions:

*Preheat oven to 350°F

1. Mash the bananas in a bowl and then set aside

2. Mix all the other ingredients together

3. Add bananas and chocolate chips

4. Pour into greased loaf pan

5. Bake for about an hour to an hour and ten minutes (a knife stuck in should come out clean).

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

  1. This looks awesome! I’ve actually never been a fan of bananas either but they are so good baked goods and lend so much texture and moisture it’s fantastic and worth the banana taste. Plus, if you add enough chocolate to anything I’m bound to eat it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

