Double Chocolate Shortbread

imageSometimes I like to think that the things I bake are invincible. There are some bakers who forget ingredients and accidentally put the wrong amount in, but those are just the careless ones, the ones who are inexperienced and don’t know what they’re doing. Right. That’s what I like to tell myself. Anyway, so I may or may not have been planning to post this recipe on Tuesday when I turned into one of those careless, ‘inexperienced’ bakers. I burnt my cookies. Not just singed edges, salvageable burnt, but pitch black charred cookies. The baking gods decided to punish me for my hubris apparently.

image

This isn’t to say that I don’t acknowledge my own carelessness–I do. Although, I prefer to call myself a ‘rebellious’ baker haha. Seriously though, you don’t want to know some of the things that I’ll do to make butter soften faster.  That being said, I can call myself a rebel all I like, but that won’t turn my pitch black cookie ashes into something edible. So I have some very simple advice: don’t be a bubble brain like me. Pay attention to your bake time! It’s worth it. These cookies are amazing when they baked properly, although I’m not going to lie, I did manage to salvage a bite or two from the original batch and they were pretty damn good even when burnt…you didn’t hear me say that.
image

Double Chocolate  Shortbread:

Preheat oven to 325°

-2 sticks of softened butter
-1/2 c powdered sugar
-1/2 c cocoa powder
-1 1/2 c flour
-1 c chocolate chips
-1/2 tsp vanilla

1. Mix the ingredients together with your hands. Save the chocolate chips.
2. Knead the dough for about 2-3 minutes.
3. Knead in chocolate chips
4. Take dough and roll into small balls. Press down on a greased cookie sheet. They should be about a 1/3 of an inch thick.
5. Bake for about 10-12 minutes. Cookies will not look very different from how they did when you put them in.

2 thoughts on “Double Chocolate Shortbread

    • I was planning on making either the apple shortbread bars I made a while back or something with pumpkin/pecan in it. I’m not entirely sure yet. Definitely not sugar cookies though!

Leave a Reply

