Chocolate Almond Snack Bites

Camera 360

Wow, for someone who doesn’t like chocolate all that much, I seem to be using it an awful lot lately. Hey, as long as it tastes good I’m happy! This was one of those ‘it’s Tuesday morning, which means I’m technically supposed to bake something, but I don’t want to walk down to the store and I have all this stupid Halloween candy that I bought because it was on sale and I don’t feel like leaving my dorm room because it’s about 35 degrees outside” recipes. It is so easy I could do it in my sleep. It requires three ingredients. That’s right, you heard me, THREE. And the beautiful thing is, you can add more to it if you want because it is super customizable.
image

This recipe involved me looking around my dorm room and deciding which items if thrown together in a bowl and covered in chocolate would taste good together. You can literally substitute in anything, but I must say that my mixture came out to be pretty damn delicious. Not to mention I’m going to pretend that it’s sort of healthy because it has cereal and almonds in it, which are both acceptable breakfast foods right? Also, because of the final consistency, it would make an awesome stand-in for granola!

Chocolate Almond Snack Mix:

-4 c Special K cereal
-2 c salted almonds (I used Trader Joe’s)
-17ish fun-sized candy bars (preferably nut-free if you’re using the almonds. I used Milky Ways because that’s what I had on hand. Also, feel free to use more than 17 candy bars if you prefer the mixture more chocolatey or if it doesn’t get completely coated to your liking).

Such a complicated recipe right? My head is reeling from all the ingredients.

1. Melt your Milky Ways in the microwave at 20 second intervals until they can be stirred together into a liquidy form.
2. Here’s the important part: DO NOT WAIT–I had to run like a crazy person from the microwave downstairs to get back up to my room so I could mix the chocolate in with the rest of the stuff before it hardened. Mix your chocolate in IMMEDIATELY after melting it if possible.
3. Stir in the chocolate with the cereal and almonds until they are pretty much coated.
4. Put in the refrigerator for about an hour
5. Remove from the refrigerator and using a knife or a spoon or something, hack at the resulting mess until it crumbles into bite-sized pieces.
6. Use for topping on yogurt or substitute it for granola or eat it straight out of the bowl like I did. Try not to eat all of it at once ;).
7. Store in an air-tight container. It should keep for about 5-7 days.

8 thoughts on “Chocolate Almond Snack Bites

    • You should go for it! I’m also working on a paper right now and it has become a serious issue because the stuff is so addictive. Guess I’ll have to hit the gym tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

