Flourless (gluten-free) Potato Chip Brownies

Gluten Free Potato Chip Brownies

Today’s foodie factoid: Flour was first ground by hand around 6,000 years ago, but it wasn’t until 3000 B.C. that the Ancient Egyptians thought to add yeast to a flour and water mixture thereby creating the first bread! To learn more about flour you can check out this website.

I think we can all agree that it’s the middle of November. I think we can also agree that if you live anywhere in the north or northeast (not Kanye’s kid, sorry I couldn’t resist) of the country it is quite cold. All in agreement here? Great. That being said, aren’t insects supposed to die in the cold? I mean I know the occasional spider will crawl indoors to set up shop, but I had a few bizarre visitors. Ladybugs. Yep. Last night I staged guerrilla warfare on the “3” (I say 3 because it turns out one of them died and somehow remained stuck to the ceiling, gross, I know.) ladybugs that decided to take up residence in my room. I have a bit of PTSD with ladybugs. I remember going to a beach in Michigan probably 10 years ago and the beach was covered in ladybugs. I thought it was the coolest thing ever until I realized a few hours later that I was covered in bites. The residential ladybugs had to go.

First I had to assess the situation. Disadvantage 1. Height. I am short and ladybugs can fly. Enough said. Disadvantage 2. Ladybugs can crawl into tiny cracks where my relatively fat fingers can’t reach them. 3. Ladybugs have smooth bodies making it difficult to grab them with a tissue. Despite my overall much larger size, I was clearly on the losing side. The night turned into a game of cat and mouse where I would wait for the stupid insects to crawl out of their respective cracks and then pounce on them with a tissue. I missed more times than I can count.
Gluten Free Potato Chip Brownies

Eventually, I did get one, and then the other, but at the expense of half a box of tissues and probably a solid 5 points on the quiz I was studying for. I know it sounds kind of sad that it took a college student 2+ hours (including the times where I had to wait for them to reemerge) to eliminate 2.5 ladybugs. I’m sure my parents will be glad to hear that they’re spending all this money to have me jump around on my bed like a lunatic trying to eliminate two itty-bitty insects for hours upon end. Good thing I’m not an engineering major…

I may not be cut out for the extermination business, but I’d like to think I know my way around a kitchen. These brownies are flourless and gluten free. This was an accident. I ran out of flour and well…you know me. I like to improvise! And by improvise I mean I was too lazy to go buy more. So for any of my gluten-free readers, this is for you! For everyone else, I promise you won’t miss the flour at all :). They’re super soft and fudgy in the middle with just a hint of saltiness from the potato chips.

Flourless Potato Chip Brownies

Preheat oven to 350°F

Adapted from Cooking Classy

-1/3 c. cornstarch
-1/3 c. cocoa powder
-1 stick of salted butter
-3/4 c sugar
-3 eggs
-1 tsp vanilla
-1 c chocolate chips (semisweet or milk)
-1 single serving bags of potato chips

1. Combine the vanilla, sugar, cornstarch, and cocoa powder in a bowl
2. Heat the butter and chocolate chips together in a separate microwaveable bowl in 20 second increments until the mixture is completely melted and combined.
3. Add the butter and chocolate mixture to the other bowl and mix until combined.
4. Add in the eggs.
5. Smooth half the batter onto the bottom of an 8×8 pan and then cover in a layer of potato chips (I used salted kettle chips).
6. Cover the chips with the remaining batter.
7. Bake for 25-30 minutes or until a knife stuck in comes out clean
8. Eat directly out of the pan with a fork. Let cool completely before cutting into squares.

Leave a Reply

