Sugar Cookie Bars with Creamsicle Frosting

image

Foodie factoid: The most modern version of the sugar cookie has origins in Nazareth, Pennsylvania from the mid 1700s. It was actually adopted as the official cookie of Pennsylvania through a House bill. That’s pretty intense right!? I don’t think Boston has an official cookie! To find out more you can check out this site.

I realized a few hours ago that my favorite cookie is not represented on this blog. Clearly that is a problem! These sugar cookie bars are amazing on their own, but I think the frosting adds an additional awesome factor. I think that since sugar cookies aren’t inherently interesting I’ll make this post somewhat confessional.

I DETEST waiting for butter to soften. This horrible dislike has driven me to desperate if somewhat creative measures to make it melt faster. I’ll start with the not so egregious ones first: I put butter on hot things, but not like a microwave or anything normal like that. Nope. I will crank the heat up and put the butter on the radiator or when I was particularly desperate early this semester before the heat came on, I put it on my computer power brick. Right. So those methods are a bit weird, but nothing too horrible. Now it’s time for the really weird and kind of creepy one. I have sat on my butter before. Yep. Put it under my legs, in between my knees. In my defense it’s not like I wasn’t wearing pants or that the wrapper wasn’t on, but I think that gives a pretty good idea about how impatient I am to get my butter to soften. For this recipe I used my heater. Please tell me I’m not the only one. Has anyone else done something weird to get butter to soften or to get any ingredient prepped more quickly?
image

Sugar Cookie Bars with Creamsicle Frosting:

Preheat oven to 350°F

Bars:

-1 1/2 sticks of salted butter (softened in any way you deem appropriate)
-1/4 c  milk
-1 c brown sugar
-1/2 c granulated sugar
-2 tsp vanilla
-1 1/4 tsp baking soda
-2 c flour
-1 egg

Frosting:

-3 c powdered sugar (add more depending on what consistency you want for your frosting)
-1/4 c orange juice
-1 1/2 stick of butter
-1 1/2 tsp vanilla

1. Preheat oven to 350°F
2. Mix wet ingredients (egg, milk, butter, sugar, and vanilla) for the cookie bars together in one bowl.
3. Slowly mix in the flour and baking soda, it helps if you have a stand mixer, but with a little arm muscle you can mix by hand.
4. Spread the dough into a 9×13 pan. It should be slightly sticky, but come out of the bowl easily.
5. Bake for 15-17 minutes or until top is golden brown.
6. Whip up your frosting and coat the bars with it once they have a chance to cool.
7. Refrigerate the bars and allow the frosting to harden.

8 thoughts on “Sugar Cookie Bars with Creamsicle Frosting

  1. So hysterically funny about the butter! I’ll admit I’ve had my one acts of impulsiveness when trying to soften butter, but I haven’t been as creative as you! Love the idea of sugar cookie bars! It’s officially cookie season – one of my favorite cookies.

    • That’s always a classic! I’d like to think it works at least a little bit. Also, the frosting is amazing–you should try it out some time :). Thanks for stopping by, Tanya!

  2. there is nothing worse than being hit with an urge to bake, and only having ice cold, rock hard butter! sometimes i cheat and defrost it in the microwave!

  3. So funny about your butter-softening tricks! I get so impatient too. Even though they say to cut it into cubes and wait for 30 minutes or so, I rarely do! I usually cut the butter into cubes and microwave it that way for a few seconds.. Much faster than waiting!

Leave a Reply

