Mocha Cookies

Mocha Cookies

Hey all! I’m back on schedule now. *Fingers crossed*. How was Thanksgiving? This year was fairly tame compared to others, which was definitely a relief. With my family you never know what’s going to happen, especially once the booze starts flowing. Does anyone have a funny Thanksgiving story worth sharing?

So it’s almost time for finals–I’m working on papers and projects as we speak–and like any good college student, I know the only way to survive is with a miraculous chemical called caffeine. And how do college students get caffeine? Red Bull and coffee. Obviously, I’m not going to try and put Red Bull into a dessert. That stuff tastes terrible! Coffee on the other hand seems like a good option. Or at least it did until I was drinking it this afternoon and burnt my tongue. Now I’m angry at coffee in its liquid form. That and determined to find a way to make my tongue evolve into a more heat-resistant entity. Any biologists/mad scientists out there who want to help me out?

Mocha Cookies

I have a love-hate relationship with coffee in general. I love the taste, hate how it burns my mouth. Love the caffeine, hate the diuretic effect. You get the point. Not to mention, I spent about a month this summer working at a coffee place. Food service is a terrible industry, it took me all of one month to up and quit. I’ve worked in retail before so it’s not that I can’t deal with customers, but honestly I think being hungry makes people crazy. Anyway, after that my opinions of coffee went toward the hate end of the spectrum even more. However, I can’t bring myself to hate these cookies, I can’t even bring myself to mildly dislike them–they are that amazing. So to all the sleep-deprived college students out there, do yourselves a favor and make these cookies, I promise you won’t burn your tongue or the roof of your mouth provided you wait more than five minutes after they come out of the oven ;).

Mocha Cookies

Preheat oven to 350°F

2 sticks of softened butter

1 egg & 1 egg yolk

2 Tbsp freshly ground or instant coffee (guess which one I used XD)

1/2 tsp cinnamon

2 tsp cornstarch

1 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp vanilla

1 1/3 c brown sugar

1 tsp milk

2 c flour

2 chocolate bars chopped up (preferably dark chocolate, but milk works too)

1. Mix together all your ingredients. You know the drill. Save the chocolate for last.

2. Chop up the chocolate bars into bite sized pieces. It’s really all personal preference.

3. Fold in the chocolate chunks

4. Refrigerate for at least 30-60 minutes.

5. Spoon the dough onto a greased cookie sheet. You’ll want to press the dough balls down a little bit, but not too much as they will spread in the oven.

6. Bake for 9-11 minutes or until edges are golden brown.

7. Try not to burn your tongue when you attack them directly off the cookie sheet!

*I included this recipe in both the Less Laundry, More Linking and Time to Sparkle link parties.

17 thoughts on “Mocha Cookies

  1. Pingback: Less Laundry, More Linking #19 | theBitterSideofSweet

  2. Pingback: 50+ Holiday Treats

  3. Pingback: Dragon’s Loyalty Award #4 & #5 | thenotsocreativecook

Leave a Reply

