Mint Oreo Haystacks

Haystacks 2

Foodie Factoid: Since they were first developed in 1912, 362 BILLION Oreos have been sold worldwide. That’s a helluva lot of cookies! You can find out more here.

So…right. You know it’s already kind of difficult for me to bake in my current living situation? I’ve gone and made it even more difficult for myself! (I feel like I’m on some twisted Food Network show. Hey, I’d probably watch it if it were on air!) Anyway, so it’s finals week and I don’t have anything to do for a bit since I have a take home final and then an astronomy final on the very last day of the exam period. That means hello college other than my own! I’m at Boyfriend’s place. Boyfriend has a microwave and a broken mini-fridge. Wow. I have so many options here! So that means simplicity is key.

This morning, I took the T (the subway for all you non-Bostonians)  to the market, got my super fancy ingredients, made these bad boys, and then sat outside in the freezing cold for 10 minutes to let the chocolate set. SEE HOW DEDICATED I AM!? That’s right people. 10 minutes. 28 degrees out to bring you deliciousness. You are welcome. By all means you are more than welcome encouraged to use a real refrigerator. I don’t want to be responsible for anyone getting frostbite.

Mint Oreo Haystacks:

Prep time: 5 minutes Cook time: 15 minutes Eat time: 2 minutes

1 c. pretzel sticks broken in half

1 box of Andes Mints

1/2 c semi-sweet (or dark) chocolate chips

8 Oreos

3 candy canes for garnish

Instructions:

1. Break the pretzels in half and put them in a bowl.

2. Break the Oreos into small pieces and combine them with the pretzels.

3. Melt chocolate chips and Andes Mints together in the microwave at 30 second intervals, stirring intermittently

4. Pour the melted chocolate mixture over the Oreos and pretzels

5. Coat the pretzels/Oreos with the chocolate mixture and then spoon onto a greased cookie sheet (or piece of parchment paper) into little mounds.

6. Garnish with pieces of candy canes.

7. Put in the refrigerator (or sit outside) for at least 10 minutes to let the chocolate set.

8. Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “Mint Oreo Haystacks

  1. Somehow I’m not surprised by the oreo stat. They are so good, I probably bought more than my share 😉
    This looks great! I am seeing recipes using Andes mints everywhere but I have never seen them in stores 😦 Maybe it’s time for a trip to the US 🙂

    • Thanks so much! And yea it’s not too surprising about the Oreos. I’m sure I’m a major contributor to that statistic! Also, if you can’t find Andes Mints you can always use any other mint flavored chocolate.

Leave a Reply

