An Excuse for my Hiatus

Hello everyone! First off I’d like to apologize for not posting in FOREVER. I’ve been a horrible, awful, no good, very bad blogger haha. I do have an excuse though. Two actually. First off, I just finished taking all my finals and getting through the semester. Hooray for winter vacation! And speaking of winter vacation, I’m currently enjoying my stay in beautiful Puerto Rico. The weather has been a bit mercurial, but hey I’ll take 80° rain over 30° snow any day, that’s for sure. So I thought since I’m here and tasting out some great food I’d put up a post about a dessert I ate today and am going to attempt to recreate when I get back to my kitchen (I miss you, my beloved mixmaster!)

Guava PastryMeet my friend: the guava pastry or pastelitos.This flaky sweet treat was so delicious and photogenic that I couldn’t help but share. Of course I didn’t have any real props so you’ll have to excuse the napkin and just appreciate the puff-pastry goodness that is this dessert.  Out of the two things I procured today–this pastry and a minor sunburn, I have to say that I’m pretty sure I prefer the pastry. That being said, I loved it so much that I decided that I’ll just have to bake some for myself when I get home!

For the next few posts, my plan is to eat my way through Puerto Rico (until I fall into a sugar coma) and share my favorite sweet treats with you guys along the way. I know this definitely isn’t the same as baking something myself, but I promise I’ll try and keep you entertained to the best of my abilities. Next stop is the Bacardi factory and I can’t wait to get my hands on some rum cake! I’ll definitely let you guys know when I do. Also…I mean technically the legal drinking age here is 18, which gives me a few options I don’t have at home ;). Thanks for being patient with me!

If anyone knows of a good recipe for guava pastries I’d love for you to share! Is anyone else going somewhere fun this winter vacation/over Christmas?

2 thoughts on “An Excuse for my Hiatus

    • Thanks so much Faith! I’ve been trying to keep on top of it, but you know as soon as finals hit it’s all over haha. I’m glad to see you’ve started posting again–your holiday recipes look great :).

Leave a Reply

