Chocolate Chip Pretzel Cookies

Pretzel cookies 4

Foodie Factoid: Pretzels were supposedly created by an Italian monk as a reward for children who learned their prayers. He called the strips of dough ‘pretiola’ or little rewards. There is no historical documentation of this story, but I thought it was pretty cute.

Yesterday was the day of dessert disasters. I tried not once, but twice to make something delicious to share with you and failed miserably on both counts. Sure I could blame it on my finicky oven or I could cast aspersions at the universe, but that doesn’t change the fact that my treats failed. So what happened exactly? I got it into my head that ‘oh no I can’t make plain old cookies again, I have to try to do something fancy shmancy so it goes viral on Pinterest or something’. Oh the things I come up with haha. That line of thought lead to my attempt with meringues. I did my research, I watched a video or two–seemed easy enough. Ok, so I got them on the cookie sheet easily enough–even though they were suspiciously liquidy they were thick enough that I went ahead with it.

Pretzel cookies 1

Cue the baking blogger being all fancy with additional ingredients. So, I guess in retrospect it makes sense that the amount of cinnamon that cookies can hold would be a lot higher than the amount viable in meringues, which are just egg whites and sugar. These came out of the oven and all seemed well until I tasted one and was met with the medicinal, bitter taste of WAY TOO MUCH CINNAMON. I picked up my parchment paper and into the garbage they went.

Attempt #2: Let’s make honey roasted cashews shall we? There’s no way we could mess those up right? Wrong. Hey Rebecca let’s set the oven to 350°F on bake ok? Wait. Bake? The recipe said BAKE?! But these are roasted cashews! No, Rebecca, you’re wrong. These are now burnt cashews. Excellent. Just excellent. I’m sure my garbage can was quite stuffed after being fed so many failed attempts.

I was going to bake these last night, but decided since clearly the baking gods had it in for me I should hold off until today and see if my luck changed. I am happy to report that it definitely improved! These cookies are just the right amount of chewy and gooey with a perfect crunchy-salty contrast from the pretzels. If you’re into sweet n salty combos then these are the cookies for you! They’re super easy to make and come together very much like the average chocolate chip cookie. Seriously, if I didn’t mess them up you’ll be just fine!.

Pretzel cookies 2

Chocolate Pretzel Cookies:

Adapted from Cookies & Cups

Preheat oven to 350°F

-2 sticks of butter (softened)
-2 tsp vanilla
-2 eggs 1 egg yolk
-2 1/4 c flour
-1 1/3 c crushed pretzels
-1 1/4 c brown sugar
-1 tsp baking soda
-2 c chocolate chips

Instructions:

1. Preheat oven to 350°F
2. Cream together butter, sugar, and vanilla.
3. Add in eggs and egg yolk.
4. Add baking soda and then mix in the flour 1 cup at a time.
5. Put pretzels in a sealed plastic bag and crush using a rolling pin (you can use any kind, but I used honey wholewheat).
6. Stir in crushed pretzels and chocolate chips.
7. Using a spoon, place balls of dough on a greased cookie sheet and bake for 8-10 minutes or until tops begin to turn golden-brown.

Pretzel cookies 3

14 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Pretzel Cookies

  1. Oh no. I’m so sorry to hear about your stressful night. At least you had these amazing cookies to retreat to!!! I love sweet and salty combos.

    • It’s okay, that’s part of the learning process right? I’ve got to burn and over-season a few things along the way haha.These cookies definitely made up for it though! Sweet and salty is one of my favorites as well :).

    • Thanks Melissa! I’m glad I’m not the only baker who has a totally off day every now and then haha. I try my best to be upfront about all my mistakes–I want people to realize that I’m learning how to bake all this stuff right along with them :).

    • Sometimes it’s just one of those days haha. Thanks Alexandra they taste crazy good too! And hmm ok, I’ll have to try the recipe again using ‘bake’ this time!

  2. I’m sorry about your failed baking attempts (we all have them!), but your retelling of the disasters is so funny! Luckily, you kept trying so you could bring us these delicious looking cookies! I would LOVE chocolate and pretzel in my cookie. I might be making these tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

