Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

Chicken Noodle soup

Yes…I know this is a baking blog. This soup was fantastic though! I figure you can forgive me this unsweetened transgression and embrace my recipe nonetheless. Besides, we’re in the midst of a cold snap here in the northeast. It’s the perfect weather for some soup! My condolences to those in the midwest. I don’t mean to be obnoxious, but I’m so glad I got out of there before you guys dropped into the negative degrees! I was visiting Boyfriend up in Wisconsin last week (which is why I was suspiciously absent from the blog) and I have never felt cold like that before. I complain about the Boston/NJ weather all the time, but compared to up there it’s practically tropical down here as long as it stays in the 30s and 40s.

Anyway, regardless of where you are be it California or Canada this soup is perfect for the season and oh so easy. I’ve always been hesitant to make soup before just because it always seemed like a complicated process with a zillion spices that all needed to be added just so. I’m impatient and I like my recipes to be as minimally labor-intensive as possible. However, we had leftover chicken sitting around in the fridge and a 16°F reading on the thermometer. I needed to eat soup today and definitely wasn’t going to leave the house to get it! Maybe my biases about soup have some validity, but not for this one! The ingredient list is simple and totally customizable plus it’s super forgiving about quantities. Add more carrots, less onions, you could even add the standard chicken soup ingredient that is mysteriously missing from this list…cough celery cough. Celery is one food that I can’t stand. It’s a bit better in soup, but if I’m making it myself there will be no celery in the mix. Of course you can feel free to add it, I suggest about 1 cup chopped, but you will never see me willingly put pure nastiness celery into a recipe.

Easy Chicken Noodle Soup:

Serves ~6 (depending on how much you eat)

-2 tsp olive oil
-1 1/2 finely chopped onions
-1 c diced carrots
-1 clove of garlic minced
-8 c reduced sodium chicken stock (you can also be fancy and make your own!)
-1/4 c flour
-2 c cooked and diced chicken
-1/2 tsp dried oregano
-1/2 tsp poultry seasoning or any seasoning really–pick your favorite spice blend.
-1 tsp salt
-2 c noodles (uncooked) flat noodles will cook better. I broke up lasagna noodles into pieces, but you’ll probably find it easier to use prepackaged egg noodles.

1. Heat oil in a large soup pot or dutch oven and sauté (took me a while, but I found the fancy ‘e’) vegetables for about 5 minutes over medium heat.
2. Sprinkle flour and spices over vegetables.
3. Stir in stock, turn up heat to bring to a boil, and then turn the heat down to simmer for 25 minutes. Keep partially covered and mix occasionally.
4. Add in chicken, and noodles and cook for another 10 minutes at medium heat.

9 thoughts on “Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

  1. While I’ve made my peace with celery in recent years (and even sometimes willingly buy and consume it), I agree with your sentiment – one of the best things about cooking things yourself is that you don’t have to use any ingredients you don’t like! This soup looks yummy. And yes, the midwest is wretchedly, wretchedly cold at the moment.

    • I’m hoping I get there with celery eventually, but until then I think I’ll avoid it like the plague haha. I’m sorry that the weather is so awful there–if anything at least it’s an excuse to stay indoors and drink hot cocoa and bake cookies all day!

Leave a Reply

