Glazed Clementine Cookies

Glazed Clementine Cookies

I’ve been told time and time again that baking is like chemistry. Baking isn’t like chemistry. Baking is chemistry. No please, wait don’t run away yet! I promise I’m not going to launch into some complicated explanation about gluten and fats etc. I barely passed chemistry in high school so I couldn’t do that even if I wanted to. The point I am going to make though is that I’m starting to see why I almost failed high school chem judging by the mistakes I make when I bake.

More mistakes Rebecca?Really? Wow didn’t see that one coming from a mile away or anything. So I found this awesome-looking recipe on Jelli’s blog (Jellibean Journals) and thought hey I’ll give this a go and substitute the shortening for butter (I tend to err away from shortening and lard in recipes, which is simply a personal preference) and orange juice for clementine juice because that’s all we have in the fridge right now.  Then I thought ok, I’ll tweak a few minor things–add a hint of vanilla, some tangerine zest. You know the drill.

All was well until I decided to halve the recipe. I halved everything perfectly except for one crucial element: the butter. The one thing I was actively changing to Jelli’s recipe crashed and burned the most spectacularly. So I do apologize to her great-grandma for totally messing up her recipe! Thank you for the inspiration though :).

There is good news though! With a good amount of finger-crossing and throwing in additional ingredients, these cookies turned out to be absolutely divine! They are tender and soft with just the right amount of tangy citrus. I usually have decent willpower when it comes to my own desserts, but these cookies got the best of me. I urge you to test out my frankenstein clementine (hey that rhymes!) cookies asap because they are just that fantastic! I’m not going to lie, things like this is why I almost failed chemistry. I may be able to save a cookie recipe with some first aid and a few tweaks, but once that hydrochloric acid starts reacting it’s all over. So here’s to baking–a better version of chemistry that I can actually do (most of the time)!

Clementine Cookies:

Preheat oven to 350°F

Cookies:

-2 sticks of butter
-1 c sugar
-1/2 c plain yogurt/sour cream (I used 2% greek yogurt)
-1 tsp orange zest
-1/4 c clementine juice (freshly squeezed is preferable)
-1/2 tsp vanilla
-1/2 tsp baking soda
-2 1/2 c flour

Glaze:

-1/2 c clementine juice
-Powdered sugar (add as much as you like to get your preferred consistency)
-A tiny splash of lemon extract if you have it. This just helps enhance the citrusy flavor.

*Preheat oven to 350ºF

1. Cream together butter, sugar, and vanilla.
2. Add in egg, yogurt, and juice (the mixture may curdle a bit, but it’ll smooth out in no time once the flour is added)
3. Mix in the baking soda and flour.
4. Refrigerate dough for 30+ minutes.
5. The dough will be sticky so you may want to wet your hands before rolling the dough into small balls and placing on a greased cookie sheet.
6. Bake for 12-14 minutes or until the edges turn golden brown.
7. Wait until the cookies cool and then cover in glaze.

8 thoughts on “Glazed Clementine Cookies

    • Thanks Cate! It was a relief to me as well–they came out much better than I could have ever expected! They’re definitely worth trying out while it’s still clementine season :).

Leave a Reply

