Skinny Applesauce Brownies

Skinny Applesauce Brownies

Foodie Factoid: In 2010, scientists from all over the world joined together to map the genome of the Golden Delicious apple. From their research, they discovered that apples probably originated from about 65 million years ago!

Ok fine, I cave. Everyone is hopping on the ‘skinny dessert’ train and I will not be left behind on this trend! I was late for Halloween because I didn’t have a can opener to get at pumpkin puree. I totally missed Christmas because I was in Puerto Rico. And now I’m running late again for the post New Years’ recipe slim-down. I mean in all fairness I’ve been known to procrastinate pretty badly for most things (mostly homework and anything that involves effort), but I need to at least join in a bit right? 

Skinny Applesauce Brownies

So here’s to an amazing brownie recipe that won’t make your jeans rip. I cut out most of the fat with applesauce (don’t worry these don’t taste like apples), but left plenty of chocolatey goodness so you wouldn’t even know that these were lightened up unless I told you ;). The best part is, according to my calculations (I used a program for this so hopefully it’s right) they only have 120 calories a piece (if you cut the brownies into 12 pieces) or 88 calories (for 16 pieces)!

In spite of the calorie cutting, these are still amazingly moist and chocolatey. I was skeptical at first when they came out of the oven since I assumed that they would definitely taste like diet brownies, but I was wrong! They’re still amazingly moist and chocolaty. Yes, you can tell that the consistency is different and they’re definitely lighter than the average brownie, but that certainly didn’t hinder my enjoyment! Plus they’re made of all natural ingredients, no artificial sweeteners or flour substitutes necessary.

Ok in all honesty, I’m definitely still late and the Pinterest boards are making me feel bad about myself since everyone is already getting ready for Valentine’s Day. I WILL bake something for Valentine’s day. And if I don’t…I’ll just have to go into hiding I guess for bringing shame upon the food blogger community haha. I’m only kidding, but seriously, Valentine’s Day. I got this.

Skinny Applesauce Brownies:

Preheat oven to 350°F

-1/2 stick of butter (melted)
-1 c unsweetened applesauce
-3/4 c sugar
-1/2 c cocoa powder
-1/2 tsp baking soda
-2 egg whites
-1 tsp vanilla
-1/2 c flour

1. Preheat oven to 350°F
2. Mix sugar, cocoa powder, and vanilla in a bowl.
3. Melt butter in a separate bowl and then add into the sugar mixture.
4. Mix in the egg whites, baking soda, and apple sauce. Save the flour for last!
5. The batter is a little runnier than standard brownie batter, but that’s just fine. Pour the batter into an 8×8 baking pan and bake for 23-25 minutes or until a toothpick/knife comes out clean.
6. Attack with  a fork and don’t feel guilty about it!

Skinny Applesauce Brownies

4 thoughts on “Skinny Applesauce Brownies

  1. Can’t wait for the Valentine’s Day Cookies! (I’m working on some right now too!) These look great- they don’t look healthy- just nice and moist and dark chocolate-y!

    • Thanks Melissa! I hope yours turn out well. I look forward to seeing what you come up with :). And I won’t eat dessert unless it tastes like dessert so it was really important to me that these brownies tasted as much like the original as possible!

  2. Cool! I love brownies and I love skinny treats so I’m saving this recipe 🙂 And I’m with you on the Valentine’s posts thing. At least it’s February now, but do we really need to start posting Valentine’s stuff the minute Christmas is over? Lol.

    • Thanks Agos! Please stop by and let me know how they turn out if you end up making them :). And I know right? It’s like wow I just finished making Christmas desserts now I need to think about Valentine’s day?! How about a week or two to breathe haha?

Leave a Reply

