Flourless Cocoa Peanut Butter Cookies

Flourless Cocoa Peanut Butter Cookies

Foodie factoid: The first ‘peanut spread’ was invented by the Aztecs way back when. They roasted peanuts and smashed them into a paste. Obviously this isn’t the peanut butter we know and love. That wasn’t invented until 1884!

So the new semester is finally back at full-tilt and I’ve only changed my classes three times so far! It’s kind of a problem how fickle I am sometimes haha. Anyway in honor of finishing my first full week of classes…yes I know it’s only Thursday. Kind of funny story actually. See I’m one of those kids, you know the ones who actively plan their schedules so they don’t have Friday classes? Yea…I’m one of those. Don’t judge me! When else in my life will I be able to have a three day weekend every week? I plan to enjoy it while I can haha. Back to the point. After my super taxing week of changing classes and doing lots and lots of reading (ah the plight of a humanities major) I decided that I wanted to bake cookies that were easy and no-nonsense.

PB Cookies 2

You will notice a few things missing from this recipe. Namely flour and butter. Don’t worry that’s entirely on purpose! So I saw a recipe for 3-ingredient peanut butter cookies floating around on Pinterest and decided that I could make them even better than they already were by adding a few extra ingredients. You know me, I’m one of those accursed food bloggers who can’t leave well enough alone.

These cookies aren’t the prettiest and don’t expect the texture to be exactly the same as that of a standard peanut butter cookie, but wow are they good! They’re definitely a little bit crumbly so exercise caution when removing them from your cookie sheet. Although, I was kind of hoping that some would break when I was taking them off the pan so then I would have to eat them. After all, broken cookies are only good for one thing: stuffing my face sharing with other people! The cocoa powder doesn’t come through too much so if you want a better balance of chocolate and peanut butter flavor feel free to add more in along with a bit more milk to keep the dough moist. Oh and did I mention my favorite part about these cookies? NO REFRIGERATION. That’s right. Zero. The less wait time the better in my opinion! Now back to the drawing board on that Valentine’s day post…what?! I still have another 28 days! That’s like the entire month of February!

Flourless Cocoa Peanut Butter Cookies

Preheat oven to 350°

-1 c granulated sugar
-1 egg
-1 c peanut butter
-1/2 tsp vanilla
-1 Tbsp cocoa powder
-2 tsp milk

*Preheat oven to 350ºF

1. Stir together peanut butter, egg, and sugar until smooth.
2. Mix in vanilla, cocoa powder, and milk.
3. Roll into balls and place onto a cookie sheet pressing down slightly.
4. Make the cool fork lattice pattern if you feel like it.
5. Bake for 8-10 minutes. Err on the side of caution. You do NOT want these cookies to over-bake and dry out!

14 thoughts on “Flourless Cocoa Peanut Butter Cookies

    • Thanks for stopping by, Faith! There’s gotta be something magical about the peanut butter that holds the cookies all together (I’m sure it’s some cool chemistry thing). Chocolate and peanut butter are always a great combination :).

  1. Perfect Timing! I’m giving up gluten temporarily to see if it helps the tummy trouble I’ve been having. Now I can have dessert!

  2. Wow Rebecca, these sound so good and I love that there’s no flour or butter! I have to try these! P.S. totally cracking up at your “hope that some of them would break when I was taking them off the pan so I would have to eat them” line – haha! That’s what I hope for too! Thanks for sharing on Saturday Night Fever, pinning now!

Leave a Reply

