Chocolate Mini-Muffins

Chocolate Mini-Muffins

Foodie Factoid: Candy is the most popular gift given on Valentine’s Day, clocking at 47.5% of all presents. That is A LOT of sugar!

Can I pretty please count these as my Valentine’s Day treat? I mean they have red cupcake liners right? And they’re chocolatey and cute right? Please? Eh. We’ll see if I get around to making anything else ‘love’ themed and if I don’t then I hereby declare that these count for Valentine’s Day. So there. How do people feel about Valentine’s Day by the way? As for me, well this will actually be the first Valentine’s Day (someone decided to skip out last year to go to Anime Milwaukee…cough Boyfriend cough) I’ve ever celebrated with someone else and to be perfectly honest I don’t really know what to expect and I’m hoping it’ll be nice, but I imagine that the experience is way more hyped than it needs to be. 

Chocolate Mini-Muffins

Anyway, in honor of the holiday I thought I would share the mortifying story of my first kiss: So I’ll preface this by saying that the guy in question actually came out of the closet a few years later so that probably explains a lot about why the kiss failed so badly. Kevin* was my first boyfriend ever. I was fourteen years old and thought I was so cool because I had a boyfriend. We had been dating for about a month at that point and I was getting extremely frustrated because he hadn’t kissed me yet. (The impatience hasn’t changed unfortunately haha). One day when we were at the park together I finally asked him if he was ever going to kiss me. I’m pretty sure he responded something like this: “yea I guess I’ll kiss you, just give me a minute to get ready”. Kevin stared at the murky pond for a good five minutes before turning to me and giving me a pathetic peck on the lips. I was absolutely horrified. That kiss was not what I was expecting at all! My response was to exclaim: “You did it wrong!” and then grab him and give him a proper kiss (or what I thought one should be at the time–it was really just an elongated peck).

Well folks, there you have it. First kisses and all that embarrassing jazz. Does anyone else have an embarrassing first date/first kiss story? Please tell me I’m not the only one who didn’t get my magical first kiss. Anyway, first kisses aside, these muffins beat them all–magical or not. They’re light and fluffy and super moist from the oil/yogurt combination. They aren’t too sweet so feel free to sprinkle some powdered sugar on top if you’d like :).

*name has been changed

Chocolate Mini-Muffins:

Preheat oven to 350°F

-3/4 c vegetable oil
-3/4 c sugar
-2 eggs
-2 tsp vanilla
-1/3 c cocoa powder
-1 c flour
-1 1/2 tsp baking powder
-1/2 c yogurt (I used Greek yogurt with honey since that’s what I had on hand)

*Preheat the oven to 350ºF

1. Mix the yogurt, eggs, sugar, and oil together.
2. Add in the dry ingredients.
3. Spoon the batter into mini muffin liners (you can use regular muffin liners, just modify the bake time)
4. Bake for about 10-12 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.

4 thoughts on “Chocolate Mini-Muffins

  1. My first kiss was acutally just about a year ago! (Yeah, when I was 19. I had never had a boyfriend before then…) He tried to kiss me at least twice before, and I kept running away. So when he finally did, he missed my mouth! The kiss was on the edge of my lips and my check.
    Embarrassing stories aside, these look wonderful! Chocolate + Red = perfect for Valentines Day!

    • No worries, I know plenty of people who didn’t get their first kisses until they got to college (one of my best friends actually) :). And aww, I’m sorry you didn’t have a magical first kiss either. Thanks though and I’m glad you agree that these are totally Valentine’s worthy haha.

Leave a Reply

