Soft and Chewy Sugar Cookies

Soft and Chewy Sugar Cookies

I just realized that this is only the second time I’ve ever used sprinkles on this blog. I feel like that’s a bit of an issue. The issue being that I’m too lazy to find cute sprinkles to put on my desserts haha. Anywho, so I have another wonderful baking lesson to share with you, straight from the disaster files of Dorm Room Baker. Ok, here goes. Try not to laugh at me too much ok? 

Do you remember my Chocolate Mini-Muffins I made last week? Yep me too. They came out pretty awesome…the second time around. The story goes something like this: I did my research, looked around at different recipes for chocolate muffins/cupcakes. Great. Seemed easy enough. However, I always found that no matter how closely I follow a recipe while making muffins or cupcakes they always come out too dry for my taste. Dry muffins are a definite turn off as I’m sure we can all agree. Nothing sexy about a dry muffin…not that I’m implying baked goods are sexy or anything. Ahem. Moving right along. So I figured, heck I’ll add an extra 1/4th cup of oil to the batter, what harm could that possibly do? After all, oil makes baked goods moist and tender so adding more can only make them better right? Wrong. SO SO SO SO wrong.

Soft and Chewy Sugar Cookies

Here’s a picture of my delicious cookies to restore a little faith in me before reading the results of my experiment…

Let me tell you about this batter–if you could even call it that. This batter was oily and slimy and probably could have killed most of the sea creatures in the Atlantic Ocean. However, ever the dauntless baker, I filled up my muffin liners and shoved them in the oven. What I produced…well not sure I want to talk about that. Basically I made oily, gross lumps of chocolatey mess. The oil was so heavy that it seeped out of the muffin liners and into the pan. Lesson learned. Oil is still oil and it can only make baked goods delicious up to a point. Never fear, the recipe I posted contained a reasonable amount of oil and still turned out perfectly moist.

Ok. Phew. Glad that’s over with. Onto these cookies, which contain no oil. I don’t think I can deal with another oil filled recipe for a while now. These cookies are amazing. I didn’t expect them to be, but they are. They’re super soft and chewy with just the right amount of vanilla and extra flair from the brown sugar. They don’t look like much, but you should definitely give them a try! I promise you won’t regret it and if you do I’ll atone by making another recipe using oil haha.

Soft and Chewy Sugar Cookies

Soft and Chewy Sugar Cookies:

Preheat oven to 375°F

-1 stick of butter
-1 egg yolk
-1/2 tsp baking soda
-1/4 tsp baking powder
-2 tsp vanilla
-2-2 1/2 Tbsp milk (use whole milk or cream for a richer taste)
-1 1/3 c flour
-3/4 c brown sugar

*Preheat oven to 375ºF

1. Cream together butter, sugar, and vanilla
2. Add in the egg yolk
3. Mix in flour and baking powder/soda
4. Save the milk or cream for last and mix it in until you have a dough that’s slightly sticky, but not too much.
5. Refrigerate for 30-60 minutes.
6. Make little balls of dough and press them onto a greased cookie sheet.
7. Decorate with sprinkles!
8. Bake for 7-9 minutes or until the edges begin to turn golden brown. The oven is hot for these cookies so they will bake quickly. Keep an eye on them!

10 thoughts on “Soft and Chewy Sugar Cookies

  1. I am a huge sugar cookie fan! I have a recipe I’m posting next week but I have to try yours because I LOVE a chewy sugar cookie! Hysterical story; we’ve all done that. If we didn’t have these funny, adventure stories, this whole blogging and baking thing just wouldn’t be as fun!

    • Sugar cookies are definitely one of my favorite cookies. If you do end up trying them definitely let me know how they turn out. I look forward to seeing your recipe as well! And I’m glad I’m not the only one who’s made some incorrect logical leaps while baking haha.

Leave a Reply

