Secret Ingredient Lemon Bundt Cakes

Mini Lemon Bundt Cakes

Foodie Factoid: Fanta soda actually originated as a Nazi product. When Coca-Cola supplies were cut off from Germany, Max Keith blended together a bunch of random ingredients left over from food production to create a new type of soda. Huh. Clearly Fanta isn’t  associated with Nazi Germany anymore, but I thought it was an interesting tidbit of information.

I don’t know about you, but I really don’t like red velvet that much. I mean I guess it’s ok and if I was forced to eat it I wouldn’t complain or anything, but at the end of the day I’m not feeling it too much. That’s why when I see it overpopulating my Pinterest boards I’m kind of like ugh. I think it’s time for a non-red velvet recipe. Yes, I understand that the red velvet is for Valentine’s Day and it’s supposed to be all romantic and whatnot, but in my defense, love doesn’t need to be pink and red and sparkly. That being said, I think we can all agree that a little bit of cake goes a long way toward romance. After all, haven’t you heard the expression: the fastest way to a man’s heart is through his stomach? Obviously that’s to be taken with a grain of salt, but there’s definitely some truth in it!

Mini Lemon Bundt Cakes

I’m trying really hard to hop on the food blogger train and keep up with the trends and holidays, but sometimes I think that being a little bit different is refreshing. It’s a lot of pressure! See on one hand I feel like I’m part of the food blogger community if I keep up with the current recipe trends, but on the other hand sometimes it gets to the point, like I mentioned before, that if I see another red velvet recipe I’m probably going to scream. Difficult conundrum right?Anyway I hope no one is disappointed that I haven’t cranked out a red velvet recipe–you probably won’t ever find one on this blog. Just like you won’t find celery or coconut haha. I’m convinced that celery is the work of some demonic entity. And believe it or not I didn’t have an issue with coconut until I tried some coconut milk earlier this year and found it so disgusting that I’ve been put off eating anything even remotely coconutty. Maybe one day I’ll get over it, but for now those foods are on the ‘I don’t want you in my mouth’ list (ok that sounded dirtier than I intended).

So let’s move onto these cakes and why they’re so amazing and moist and delicious. Plus they have a secret ingredient. Um secret ingredients are the best–that way you can keep everyone guessing at what makes your treats so awesome. Yea…I’m that kind of girl 😉 haha. If the foodie factoid didn’t give it away then you can check out the ingredient list for your answer!

Secret Ingredient Lemon Bundt Cakes:

Yield: approximately 12 mini bundt cakes

Preheat oven to 325°F

-1 1/2 sticks of butter
-1/2 c soda of your choice (I used Fanta, but I think Sprite would work nicely as well)
-Juice of 1/2 a lemon
-1 1/2 c flour
-1 tsp vanilla
-2 eggs and 1 egg yolk
-1 c brown sugar
-1/2 c granulated sugar

1. Cream together butter and sugar.

2. Add in vanilla and eggs (and the yolk)

3. Mix in soda and lemon juice

4. Add in the flour and mix. It’s ok if there are some lumps, in fact that’s actually preferable.

5. Spoon the batter into a greased mini bundt pan or muffin pan. Fill the wells about 3/4ths of the way up.

6. Bake for 19-21 minutes or until a knife comes out clean. Make sure you don’t over-bake them!

22 thoughts on “Secret Ingredient Lemon Bundt Cakes

  1. That is so fascinating! Thanks for that little neat fact about Fanta. Love it. I agree with the whole red velvet thing. I see it all the time, but I would never turn it down if it’s offered. That’s why I’m a sugar feind. I’m gonna try these sometime 🙂

    • Thanks Kathleen! I’m glad you enjoyed my foodie factoid :). I always think that it’s so cool when foods (drinks) have interesting origin stories. I hope you enjoy these if you end up trying them out.

  2. Confession: I’ve never tried Red Velvet Cake so I don’t know if it’s good or not! I love devil’s food chocolate so much; I don’t make cakes that often so if I want a cake, I go for something I know I’ll love. I have a lemon cake that’s delish- it’s from my Grandma- basically the whole 50’s jello in the cake mix thing. Your cake looks great; I will have to try it with your secret ingredient!

    • Well don’t take my word for it, but I think straight up devil’s food is better than red velvet any day! If you’re going for something chocolatey you may as well go all the way right? Haha. It’s so cool that you have a lemon cake recipe from your grandma (and one that uses jello no less!). I should really ask if my grandma has any awesome vintage recipes like that.

  3. You know, I’ve never really cared that much about red velvet, either. It’s kind of just cake with red food coloring added in! Anyway, I didn’t know about Fanta and this recipe looks great! I really like the lemon juice.

  4. Rebecca, I came to your blog via Foodie Friends Friday. I think your mini- Bundt cakes look like the French Canalé pastries, with the fluted edges. Regarding your comments about Red Velvet Cake, I had never ever heard of this type of cake before, but decided to give it a go for this Valentine’s Day. How embarrassing (sort of)! I didn’t realise that this cake had been overdone before. On the other hand, my husband and I are certainly enjoying eating the cake!

    • Hi Fran! Thanks for stopping by :). Red velvet is definitely super popular around this time of year with Valentine’s Day right around the corner. I’m glad you enjoyed it! I know that most people like it so I’m definitely an anomaly when it comes to my preference in cake.

  5. Fanta is a soda that my husband grew up drinking and they still have it in bottles in Togo West Africa. This sounds great. Thanks for sharing on Foodie Friends Friday Valentine’s Party and I hope that you will join us again for our Snack Foods Party this week.

    • Oops did I not include that? Thanks for pointing it out. Definitely grease the pan. Either some butter or non-stick spray should do the trick. I hope you enjoy them!

Leave a Reply

