Apple Butternut Squash Soup

Apple Butternut Squash Soup

Foodie Factoid: The butternut squash was developed when Charles A. Leggett purchased 94 acres of land that he didn’t know what to do with. Corn wouldn’t grow well so he started cross-breeding squash just to see what would happen. Guess he was pretty successful!

I know, I know. I did it again. I’m a terrible, horrible, awful baker. I made soup. Have I mentioned that I really like soup? Hopefully you can forgive me in lieu of all this miserable snow we’ve been getting on the east coast. I thought it was bad in Boston and then I came home to Jersey for a few days and damn…well I’m not going to complain anymore! (That’s a lie.)

So I’ve realized that there are several problems that come with being a food blogger. This realization struck me earlier today when I was browsing around nirvana Trader Joe’s and I was pretty much staring at all the food in some sort of daydreamy haze when someone asked me if I needed help finding anything. Not that that’s weird or anything, she was an employee so it’s her job to help out the customers. Nope. The weird thing was the fact that I didn’t find anything odd about me standing in front of the shelves of cookie butter and just staring at them for an extended period of time.

Apple Butternut Squash Soup

Clearly I’m not the only one with these problems because as I looked more closely at the shelf of cookie butter I noticed a hysterical sign. It said something along the lines of: due to increased demand please limit yourself to 5 jars of cookie butter. In typical Rebecca fashion I started laughing like a moron and showed my mom hoping she would too appreciate the humor and then we could both laugh like morons together. She didn’t. I was just slightly crushed.

Apple Butternut Squash Soup

In other news, this soup is amazing. You might think it’s kind of weird to have apples in soup, but trust me the flavors work amazingly well together. Also, I’m self-professed cinnamon fiend so by all means feel free to cut down on the quantity if it isn’t your thing.

Apple Butternut Squash Soup

-3.5 c butternut squash (one large or 2 small squash)
-1 tsp cinnamon
-1/4 tsp nutmeg
-1 medium onion
-3 c chicken stock
-1 c milk
-1 apple
-1 Tbsp brown sugar
-1/2 tsp salt
-1 tsp olive oil
-pepper to taste
-breadcrumbs (optional)

1. Cut squash into cubes (or get prepackaged cubed squash from Trader Joe’s)
2. Roast squash for 25 minutes at 425ºF and then allow to cool while you prep the other ingredients.
3. Chop the onions and apples into small pieces. Sauté onions and apples in the olive oil for 10 minutes at the bottom of a large pot or dutch oven.
4. Add in chicken stock, milk, and squash.
5. Bring to a boil and then turn the heat down to simmer for 10 minutes.
6. Either using an immersion blender or a regular blender, blend the mixture until it has a smooth consistency and then simmer for another 10 minutes.
7. Garnish with breadcrumbs, pepitas, etc. Whatever makes you happy.

6 thoughts on “Apple Butternut Squash Soup

  1. If I was buried in snow, I think I’d be cooking soup too! (and cookies). This looks really yummy. I had no idea of the origins of butternut squash.
    Oh- the weird nuances that come with being a food blogger…it goes on and on. Keep sharing your stories- so many of us can completely relate 🙂

    • Thanks Melissa! I’ll keep an eye out for other people ogling the shelf of cookie butter next time I’m at Trader Joe’s and know that I’m in good company haha.

Leave a Reply

