Almond Crescent Cookies

Almond Crescent CookiesThese cookies have been in my family for ages and I’m sure many other Eastern European families have similar ones in their cookbooks as well. The first time I made these was way back in 4th grade when we needed to make a recipe that represented our family heritage. Anyway so my family is basically a giant mashup of Poland, Austria, Israel, and I think one other country that I’m forgetting right now.

Here comes the tricky part. These cookies are…Polish? I want to say Polish. I guess I’m a little bit confused because for a while I thought my family was mostly Russian, but then that’s because my grandpa always told my mom that our family was from ‘White Russia’, and she thought that he was just being antiquated or something. However, it turns out that, correct me if I’m wrong, but ‘White Russia’ is actually Poland?*Β 

Almond Crescent Cookies

Is anyone else confused or is it just me? Ok. So I think my family is Polish. Not Russian. Maybe we’re both. Somehow I feel like I should be a bit better acquainted with my family heritage, but it’s just one of those things that I never really got around to. Maybe I should just start telling people that I’m European. I think that’s relatively obvious considering that I’m the definition of pale (I put Edward Cullen to shame) and it’s technically true and saves me a helluva lot of confusion.

Anyway…these European cookies are absolutely amazing and melt in your mouth. My mom was giving me grief about my rendition not being as good as when her grandmother made them, but I think that’s just because her standards are out of whack. Everyone else thought they were great and they certainly disappeared quickly enough! Does anyone else have any cool ‘European’ family recipes? (Or recipes from anywhere else in the world?)

Almond Crescent Cookies:

Preheat oven to 350ΒΊF
-2 sticks of butter
-1/2 c sifted powdered sugar (plus some extra to sprinkle on top)
-1 c ground almonds (pecans or walnuts will also work)
-2 c sifted cake flour (or 1 3/4 c. sifted all purpose flour)
-1 1/2 tsp vanilla

1. Cream together butter and sifted sugar
2. Sift cake flour and add to butter sugar mixture.
3. Add vanilla extract and nuts and mix all the ingredients together until they form a heavy dough.
4. Refrigerate dough for 1-2 hours.
5. Shape dough into crescents and bake on a greased or parchment lined cookie sheet.
6. Bake for 12-15 minutes or until tops are golden brown.

10 thoughts on “Almond Crescent Cookies

  1. That’s so funny that it’s been in your family for so long and it’s kinda unknown the origin. Being so delicious it makes the origin irrelevant. Love almond cookies.

    • Thanks! I actually talked to my grandma yesterday and now I’m a little bit more well versed in my family history. Turns out my grandpa’s side of the family is actually from Poland, and since these are his mother’s recipe guess that makes them Polish too!

  2. Love these almond cookies!! I need to do a bit more talking to my relatives too about who came from where. Someday my kids are going to know where their ancestors came from! πŸ˜‰

    • Thanks! It’s always pretty cool to find out where your family comes from. I talked to my grandma and apparently one of my great grandfathers ran away to join the circus! Never would have guessed that one haha.

Leave a Reply

