Banana Bread Cookies

Banana Bread Cookies

Foodie Factoid: Around 1200 the Japanese actually used a certain type of banana fiber to make their clothes! The quality of the fabric varied drastically from soft enough to make fancy kimonos to poorer quality fabric for things like tablecloths.

Yea, yea I know I’ve been absent for longer than usual. I have an excuse though, a very good excuse. I have been caught in the stranglehold of a few evil monsters known as midterms. Dun dun dun. Ok they haven’t been that bad *knock on wood* don’t want to jinx those grades haha. Although, I am a master of procrastination. It is quite a skill. Cramming is one of my middle names–the others being sarcasm, impatience, and insomniac. Such good middle names. I wonder how my parents would feel if I changed my name legally to Rebecca Cramming Sarcasm Impatience Insomniac. That’s quite a mouthful haha. 

Banana Bread Cookies

Anyway so my midterms are halfway over and I knew that I needed to take a break and do some baking today or I would go absolutely bananas (sorry I couldn’t resist haha). So as I’ve been studying I actually discovered something interesting: I’m actually kind of an ignorant American–much more so than I ever though. It wasn’t that I ever considered myself super cultured, but I didn’t think that I was so Americanized either. I’m currently taking a class on Chinese history and I realized that I literally cannot pronounce any of the names. I just stare at things like Li Hongxang (which sounds something like Lee Hongjang) and for the life of me can’t pronounce them. Then, even if I think I’ve got the pronunciation down in my head I try to speak it out loud and it sounds pretty terrible and totally inaccurate.

Banana Bread Cookies

What makes this even worse is that Boyfriend is half Chinese and can say all the names no problem, but then when I try to replicate them it sounds like an elephant (or any animal) trying to speak English. *Sigh* I swear I’m trying, but I’m sure any native Chinese speaker would either laugh at me or wouldn’t even know what I was saying due to my butchery of the names. Please tell me I’m not the only one with this problem. That would be really, really embarrassing and mean that I have to try even harder to figure this stuff out. I know that Chinese is supposed to be a tonal language, but I’m starting to suspect that I may be tone deaf haha.

Anyway, so these cookies yea, in English easy to pronounce. My kind of cookies haha. These cookies are definitely not crispy or chewy cookies, they actually taste sort of like muffin tops turned into cookies so pretty much super moist and crazy delicious. The banana flavor is mild, which is my preference, but you can feel free to add a little extra banana if you’d like the flavor to be stronger.

Banana Bread Cookies:

Preheat oven to 350ºF
Yields about 16 cookies

-1 stick of butter (softened)
-1 c + 2 Tbsp flour
-1 tsp vanilla
-1/2 c brown sugar
-2 egg yolks
-1 banana
-1/2 tsp baking soda
-1/4 tsp salt (unless using salted butter)

1. Peel and mash the banana. Set it aside.
2. Mix together butter, sugar, vanilla, and the egg yolks.
3. Add in the banana and baking soda.
4. Mix in the flour.
5. Spoon dough onto a greased cookie sheet.
6. Bake for 8-10 minutes or until they start to turn slightly brown.

14 thoughts on “Banana Bread Cookies

  1. Hi Rebecca:

    I made the banana bread cookies last night and fresh out of the oven they were fantastic. I modified the recipe a little using only 60% of the butter and very ripe bananas (1.5). Also, my ability to follow instructions is fading. So, instead of doing the flour at the end I somehow mixed the wet with the flour and then somehow it all mixed together.

    I must admit the cookies taste better heated. I tried one this morning cold and it was not as succulent.

    Will miss you this April when family visits. But summer will soon be here. Until then

    Love

    Grandpa

    • Cookies tend to be okay even if you mix the ingredients in the wrong order haha. I’m glad you enjoyed them! I actually have no idea what they taste like cold because the things I bake rarely ever last that long around hungry college students. I suggest that you heat them up in the toaster oven for a minute or two before eating them and that might be more to your liking. I can’t wait to see you guys this summer!

  2. These look yummy! One of my favorite things about banana baked goods is how moist they usually are. I bet these would be tasty with walnuts or chocolate chips (or both!!) mixed in, too!

  3. Congratulations on making it past midterms! Woohoo! And thanks for the food facts- very fun. Funny side note- when I used to work retail, my clients from China would sign the receipt for their credit card. They’d hand it to me and I, trying to be the good skin care gal, would say, “thank you……” and I could never pronounce their names right. Ever. And then they’d say, “oh, just call me Linda.” I felt so bad- imagine changing your first name because others (me, the white girl) couldn’t pronounce it!

    • Thanks Melissa! It’s definitely a relief to be done with them. Now I just have to wait for the next round of papers and exams to start up haha. And I totally agree that it’s pretty sad that people have to change their names so Americans can pronounce them. I would have felt bad in that situation as well. I also learned from Boyfriend that it’s actually mandatory for students in most Asian speaking countries to learn English, which makes me wonder why it isn’t reciprocal. I think it would have been pretty cool to learn Chinese or Japanese in school!

  4. I thought I would leave the procrastination bug in college but apparently it follows you to grad school too. So I feel ya. These cookies look so moist and delicious!!

  5. Cracking up over this post! I can’t pronounce Chinese words for the life of me! My oldest son took Chinese last term in middle school and was saying Chinese words with no problems whatsoever! These cookies are making me super hungry – they look delicious! Thanks so much for sharing on Saturday Night Fever! See you again tonight!

Leave a Reply

