Orange Bars

Orange Bars

Hey Rebecca are you sure those aren’t lemon squares? I’m sure. Wait actually? Yep. Ok, I acknowledge that these could easily be mistaken for lemon squares and the misconception could probably also carry over after you take a bite although if you taste carefully you’ll notice that there isn’t the same level of acidity that you would find in a traditional lemon square. So why an orange square then? Did you get too lazy to go buy a lemon or something? Hush. I would never do that. What kind of baker do I look like to you? Don’t answer that.

Oranges have become my new go-to snack. I never thought I’d say this, but I don’t really eat apples that much anymore. See I found out that they were hurting my stomach (only took me 19 years) so I am now on an epic quest to force myself to like oranges at least as much if not more than apples. I don’t think I could ever do the same with bananas so oranges were a pretty good substitute. There is one thing I’m a little bit concerned about. So my dad, being my dad likes to tell a lot of stories and I often have a difficult time discerning how much truth there is in them. Especially when he gets all didactic and starts swearing that he’s telling the truth. Anyway, the story that worries me is apparently when he was a kid he ate so many carrots that he turned orange. I do NOT want to look like Snooki. Maybe the effect is only from carrots? Then again…flamingoes also get their color from their diets. Uhhh yea probably going to lay off on the oranges for a bit once I finish polishing off these orange bars haha.
Orange Bars

Ok enough about me. These lemorange (pick whichever citrus you want) bars are an all time favorite of mine. They’re light and buttery with a perfect amount of flavor and sweetness/sourness from the lemon or orange. I make these for parties a lot when I’m home and they’re always a hit. Not to mention, they’re super simple, and you know me I never ever opt for desserts because they’re easy to make or anything ;).

Orange Squares:

Crust:

-1 c. butter
-1/2 c sugar
-2 c flour
-1 tsp vanilla

1. Preheat oven to 350ºF
2. Mix together ingredients with your fingers or a food processor until they come together in a crumbly dough. The butter should still be cold.
3. Press dough into the bottom of a 9×13 pan and poke holes into it with a fork.
4. Bake for 15 minutes and then remove from oven and allow to cool. (The cooling part isn’t strictly necessary if you’re in a rush, but it’ll help your bars set better.)

Filling:

-1/2 c freshly squeezed orange (or lemon) juice
-A bit of orange zest
-1 c sugar
-1 tsp vanilla
-4 eggs
-1/3 c flour

1. Pour custard over cooled crust.
2. Bake for 18-20 minutes or until bars are firm.

12 thoughts on “Orange Bars

  1. These look amazing! And I think you are a resourceful baker, using what you have! And since I have a bowl of oranges sitting at home, I think I may have to make some of these 🙂 By the way, glad you found out the culprit of your stomach aches- ouch.

    • Oranges have become my new favorite fruit. The one thing I don’t like about them is having to peel them! I think my hands smell perpetually like oranges since I eat so many haha.

  2. Oh my gosh my mom always tells a story about me turning orange when I was a baby! She says she took me to the Dr. because the tip of my nose was orange and he said it was from too many strained carrots! Lol… I guess your dad is telling the truth!

    I love your bars! Orange sounds so lovely and they look so cheerful!

Leave a Reply

