Junk Food Cupcakes

Junk Food Cupcakes

These cupcakes were inevitable. I am not proud of these cupcakes. I only share them because they are delicious and even though I’m ashamed, my readers deserve the chance to try them for themselves. Basically, these are what happens when every single crummy artificial food gets together and decides to have a giant orgy–resulting in these cupcakes. The main offenders? Devil’s food cake mix, Oreos, and um well this is embarrassing…ginger ale. Could I have left it at those three ingredients and still have had them be delicious? Yes. Could I have added in pretzels or something and made them even better? Probably. I’ll leave those options up to you! At this point I’m sure my mother is going to have a heart attack. I promise I have a REALLY good excuse for these cupcakes and I promise it isn’t the lazy excuse again. Bear with me. 

Junk Food Cupcakes

So this afternoon I caught the baking bug. I needed to make something, anything at all, but the problem was the on campus supermarket was out of butter. Damn. What was I supposed to make without butter? Second part of my excuse: I spend too much time on Pinterest. I know this isn’t helping my case. Oh well. So I saw a soda cupcake recipe floating around for a while and me being skeptical/curious me I decided that it was worth trying at least once. Once. After this I’m sticking to the good old wholesome ingredients, but hopefully you can forgive me. These were REALLY good. I know that they’re pumped full of chemicals and icky preservatives, but if you just close your eyes and pretend then you will understand why I’m only half sorry about this recipe. That and the fact that they take a total of 2 minutes to throw together even with the extra ingredients I added to jazz them up a little bit. These cupcakes are pretty much perfect if you’re broke, pressed for time, or   craving a junk food bomb (or all three). I hesitate to recommend something that I wouldn’t eat on a regular basis, but I must say that they’re worth trying at least once!

Junk Food Cupcakes:

-1 can of soda (I used ginger ale, but you could probably pick your favorite since the soda flavor doesn’t come through at all)
-1 box of cake mix (chocolate or vanilla will do)
-16 Oreos chopped
-1 tsp vanilla extract
-2 Tbsp cocoa powder

1. Preheat oven to 350ºF
2. Stir one can of room temperature soda into the package of cake mix.
3. Add in vanilla and cocoa powder and mix well.
4. Fill cupcake tins about 2/3ds of the way
5. Bake for 16-20 minutes or until a knife comes out clean.

12 thoughts on “Junk Food Cupcakes

  1. Well these are fun! I’ve never heard of cupcakes made this way but they sound great! Thanks for sharing at Saturday Night Fever!

Leave a Reply

