Cinnamon Sugar Oil Drop Cookies

 

Cinnamon sugar oil drop cookies

I can’t actually remember the first time I made these cookies. My sisters and I really wanted to bake something, but there wasn’t a trace of butter to be found. After we begged our mom to get us some from the supermarket, she told us to be creative and find something else to make. We pulled out our massive copy of the Joy of Cooking and scoured the desserts section for butterless recipes. These Sugar Oil Drop cookies popped out at us for whatever reason, so we figured we’d try them out even though at the age of around 12 or so making cookies with oil sounds insane. For a while these became the go-to cookie recipe in the house. I’m not sure if it’s because we never had butter around or because my sisters and I liked how easy they are to make. Of course there’s always the delicious factor to take into account. However, now that I’m older and becoming more and more of a food blogger I knew I had to make a few minor alterations. I can’t help myself sometimes! I like to blame it on my rabid addiction to cinnamon–if a recipe calls for a certain amount I’ll almost always add more!

This week turned out to be better than expected for my inner foodie, I was actually up at Anime Boston with Boyfriend and one of his friends, but after the first day I got bored of it and retreated to Trader Joe’s, which happened to be across from the convention center. Let’s be honest, we all know where I wanted to be in the first place haha. Anyway so while in Trader Joe’s, I stumbled upon some chia seeds and decided that because I am a curious lemming I had to try some. That being said, I will be bringing you a chia based recipe some time in the not so distant future! I actually found that I didn’t like it too much in pudding form–something about the gooey, cold consistency is just kind of unappealing to me, but now I have a bag of chia and I am determined to use it to make something awesome. Stay tuned! Until then, you can stuff your face with some of these delicious dairy-free cookies.

Cinnamon Sugar Drop Cookies:

Adapted from the Joy of Cooking

-2 1/2 c flour
-1 1/2 tsp baking powder
-pinch of salt
-1 tsp cinnamon
-1 c brown sugar
-3/4 c vegetable oil
-2 eggs
-1 tsp vanilla

*Preheat the oven to 350°F
1. Mix together oil, eggs, sugar, and vanilla.
2. Add in the flour, baking powder, salt and mix well.
3. Gradually add in the flour until the dough is well combined.
*4. (optional) Take 1 tsp of cinnamon and 1/4 c granulated sugar and stir together in a separate bowl. Roll cookie dough balls in the cinnamon sugar before placing on a cookie sheet.
5. Place dough balls on a greased cookie sheet and pat down slightly.
6. Bake for 10-12 minutes or until the edges begin to brown slightly.

8 thoughts on “Cinnamon Sugar Oil Drop Cookies

Leave a Reply

