Cinnamon Quick Bread

Cinnamon  Quick Bread

After spending my entire spring break working on a paper about chocolate I absolutely had to make something that had nothing to do with chocolate. Any more reference or mention of chocolate at this point would probably make me scream. I now know more about the cocoa trade between the Mesoamericans (Mayas and Aztecs) and the Conquistadores than I could ever possibly have wanted to know. Ever. Did you know that chocolate’s scientific name Theobroma Cacao means food of the gods? I think whoever named it was a moron. Instead, it should be called food of the ‘let’s see how much sleep deprivation we can subject Rebecca to’. Linnaeus needs to step up his name game.

Anyway, cinnamon is my friend. It has nothing to do with chocolate and didn’t make me write an agonizing research paper about it. Yes, I was coerced by chocolate. In my defense, there is a god of chocolate named Ek Chuah and I bet you he had something to do with it! Ok that’s a total lie. It was actually the majestic Netflix gods who drove me to not focus on the paper as well as I should have and therefore make more work for myself. They just make it way too damn convenient! That ‘watch next episode’ button is hypnotic and it stares you in the face until you are powerless to say no. Please tell me I’m not the only one who has this problem. I’m currently a little bit too obsessed with Scrubs. What show is your addiction of choice?

Cinnamon Quick Bread And with that I’ve given you the inspiration for this recipe and the reason I’ve been MIA for the past few…um let’s not talk about how long. Classes are finally winding down. I can’t believe I only have two school days left before reading period! Then I’m going to be a junior! Woohoo! That’s almost as awesome as this quick bread. I call it a quick-bread because it’s not quite desserty enough to be cake and therefore you can totally get away with eating some for breakfast or as a snack with some milk or tea. The added yogurt and oil make it super moist and delicious and once again ZERO CHOCOLATE. It’s definitely worth trying out since it comes together in only a few minutes and uses ingredients you probably already have lying around your pantry.

 

Cinnamon Quick Bread

-1 1/2 cups flour
-2 tsp baking powder
-1 c vanilla yogurt
-1 c. sugar
-3 eggs
-4 tsp  cinnamon (more or less to taste)
-1 tsp vanilla
-1/4 c vegetable oil
-1/2 stick of butter (softened)

1. Preheat oven to 350ºF
2. Cream together butter, sugar, and vanilla.
3. Mix in yogurt, eggs, and oil.
4. Combine the flour, cinnamon, and baking powder in a separate bowl.
5. Stir the dry ingredients into the wet until they are just mixed, do not over mix the batter. It’s fine if there are still a few lumps.
6. Pour the batter into a greased loaf pan.
7. Bake for 45-55 minutes or until a knife comes out clean.

10 thoughts on “Cinnamon Quick Bread

  1. Visiting from Saturday Night Fever. I love cinnamon and in quick bread form I can get away with eating a slice for breakfast, yum! I co-host Sweet and Savoury Sunday and would for you to stop by and share these and other recipes with us when the party goes live tonight . Have a great day!

  2. Wait you were writing a paper on chocolate? That sounds exciting! I love cinnamon too and why this bread is looking way too good to be true 🙂

    • Thanks so much! And yep! It was a pretty cool paper in theory, and I really enjoyed doing the research. When it came to writing the thing though…not so much haha.

  3. Looks great! I love connamon and the best one I have found is the one from Trader Joe’s – and its pretty cheap too! Good luck with school. Are you on semesters or quarters? My son is on quarters and just finished his last final today – yay!

  4. Cinnamon bread sounds mighty tasty, although as someone who has NOT had to spend an inordinate amount of time thinking about chocolate lately, I might be tempted to sneak in a few chocolate chips! That sounds like a pretty cool paper topic. Maybe later when you’re not so burnt out on the subject, you’ll have to share more about the history of chocolate 🙂

    • Thanks CakePants! I thought it was a pretty awesome topic and per your suggestion I think I’ll definitely have to dedicate a post to the history of chocolate! (Along with a recipe that’s chock full of chocolate ;)). If you do end up trying this with chocolate chips, which I think is a good idea, you’ll have to let me know!

Leave a Reply

