Chai Blondies

Chai Blondies

These blondies ended up giving me a little bit of PTSD from last summer where I worked at a coffee place as a drudge barista. I cannot tell you how many times I would end up spilling the stupid chai syrup (and just about anything liquid) all over myself and go home smelling like souring milk and spices. Good times. Not really. Anyway so when I got home from school a few days ago, I noticed that we had these things of chai syrup in the fridge. I’m not really a fancy drink person myself (black coffee for me please and thanks), but I thought heck let’s throw some into a blondie recipe and see what happens. Unlike my few weeks working in the coffee place, these were AMAZING. If you look carefully at the first picture you can probably see where I stabbed one with a fork…never happened. 

Chai Blondies

 

I have a weird relationship with coffee. When I was little I thought it was the most romantic thing in the world. I loved the way it smelled and I wanted it to be mine. My parents would always deny me the opportunity to taste it, which in retrospect probably had the opposite effect they were hoping for. I know that caffeine is bad for kids and that it’s supposed to stunt their growth, but heck I’m 5’1 so I really don’t see how it would have made much of a difference one way or another. Anyway so I finally got to try coffee and realized that the drink I’d longed for was nothing like what I expected. Not to be outdone by the bitter drink I decided I would conquer it my way. Thus was born ‘moffee’, aka a lot of milk+ a TON of sugar+ a few drops of coffee. I was about ten or eleven and I thought I was the coolest person ever. I’m really not sure why I thought coffee was so cool, I guess I thought it was a ‘grown up drink’ and that I’d seem mature if I drank it. Moffee wasn’t even that good in retrospect, and I drank it as more of a pride thing. After my parents finally let me drink coffee I couldn’t blow it by letting them know that I thought the stuff was nasty. Eventually I did grow to love coffee, in it’s true form, and not as a sugary milk drink. Now that I’m older I drink my coffee pretty straight up: coffee+ 1 packet of sugar. If ten year old me tried to drink that she’d probably puke haha.

I’m not exactly sure why I’m talking about coffee since these are chai blondies, but meh whatever. Coffee is good too. Maybe I’ll have to try coffee blondies next time, but first I have to get over just how amazing they are with chai ;).

Chai Blondies

-1 stick of butter softened (you can melt it a little in the microwave for a chewier consistency, but don’t let the butter turn into a complete puddle) 
-3/4 c brown sugar
-1 c flour
-1 egg yolk
-2 Tbsp chai concentrate 
-1 tsp cinnamon
-1/2 tsp baking powder

1. Preheat oven to 350ºF
2. Cream/stir together the butter, sugar, and chai concentrate.
3. Mix in the egg yolk, cinnamon, baking powder, and flour
4. Add sprinkles if you want because sprinkles are awesome.
5. Spread the batter into an 8×8 greased pan.
6. Bake for 16-20 minutes or until the edges are golden brown and begin to pull away from the sides of the pan.

2 thoughts on “Chai Blondies

    • Thanks Bianca! Nothing wrong with still enjoying ‘moffee’ :). Sometimes if I’m looking for a sugar fix I’ll add a ton of some hot cocoa mix into my coffee and make a mocha type thing, which is almost as good.

Leave a Reply

