Asian Pear Crumble

 

Asian Pear Crumble

Can you guys believe it’s June already!? I sure can’t haha. Ok so I know that this recipe is SO not Italian related at all, which probably would be the logical thing to post after getting back from Rome, but my mom had some of these giant pears lying around and they needed to get used before they went bad. Never fear. I’m going to try to post something Italian for my next post! 

So I have a funny story for you. When Boyfriend and I were in Rome he kept making fun of me because I’m such a weakling (seriously I have spaghetti arms). Basically he said that before he met me all his friends used to joke that any girl he dated would be so much stronger than him. Um yea…then he met me haha. Ok I felt kind of lame and decided when I got home I’d go to the gym and try to lift some weights instead of only doing cardio. Picture this: me standing in front of the weights rack and finally settling on some itty bitty 4 lb weights. The trainer next to me is working with an old lady who’s pressing 20 with each arm. Cue my retreat into the corner to lift my itty bitty weights, which actually I found to be pretty heavy. I feel like this is a problem worth remedying. Maybe when there isn’t a trainer right next to me totally judging me and my spaghetti arms haha.

Asian Pear Crumble

Anyway so instead of feeling bad for myself I kind of made this crumble instead. I bet that old lady couldn’t make a crumble this awesome–well if she followed my recipe I guess she could! It’s ok. Maybe by next month I’ll be able to lift 5 lbs!

Asian Pear Crumble

For the Pears:
-2-3 large Asian pears
-Juice from 1/2 lemon
-2 tsp cinnamon
-1/2 tsp vanilla
-1 tsp cornstarch
-2 Tbsp granulated sugar*

*If you substitute regular pears for the Asian pears use 3-4 pears and omit the extra sugar.

For the Crumb Topping:
-1/3 c brown sugar
-1/2 stick of salted butter (make sure it’s super cold)
-1/2 c flour

*Preheat the oven to 350ºF

1. Peel and slice the pears into thin slices.
2. Add in the other ingredients into a bowl with the pears and mix until the pears are coated evenly.
3. Spread the pears into an 8×8 baking dish.
4. Using either a pastry cutter or your fingers combine the butter, brown sugar, and flour until you get large crumbs.
5. Sprinkle the crumble evenly on top of the pears
6. Bake for 35-40 minutes or until the top is golden brown.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Asian Pear Crumble

  1. Mmmm, this crumble sounds delicious 🙂 Hey, there’s only so much time in life- we can’t do it all 🙂 Seriously, best of luck in the weight workout department- I personally like to work out in the secrecy of my room with my 5 pounders!

    • Thanks Melissa! I think it might be a good idea for me to buy some dumbbells so I can do my weight lifting a little bit more surreptitiously haha.

Leave a Reply

