Baked Strawberry Donuts

Baked Strawberry Donuts 1

I finally got to break out my donut pan! I’ve had it sitting in the cabinet forever since I tried to make donuts for Thanksgivukkah last year and failed pretty miserably. It made me particularly sad because for that attempt I actually followed a recipe I found to a T, guess I learned my lesson: always be a food blogger and change a zillion things about a pre-existing recipe haha. Anyway so I’ve actually been on a total strawberry kick lately. Not in terms of baking with them obviously (until now), but in terms of what I feel like stuffing into my face on a daily basis. My parents can attest to this, but I’ll literally stand at the counter and inhale half a carton of strawberries in a matter of minutes. I think I’m driving my dad crazy because I keep asking him to cut the strawberries and then when he doesn’t I just gnaw them down all the way to the stem. Healthy? Eh. I mean it’s not the best way to go about eating food, but heck at least they’re not chips.

Baked Strawberry Donuts

 

So I mean the strawberries in NJ are ok, sometimes even pretty good if you get a decent batch, but I was spoiled as a kid growing up in LA. I remember on the weekends, my dad used to go to the Farmers’ Market really early in the morning and come home with these enormous, juicy strawberries. They were so amazing. I’ll be in LA a little bit later this summer and I’ll have to see if I can’t try to find and visit that market again so I can get an entire carton of strawberries all to myself. I kid you not I will eat the entire thing. Just you wait. Maybe I’ll take a picture of my red stained face when I’m done haha.

Baked Strawberry Donuts 2.5

Although, on second thought, maybe I should get two cartons. One to stuff my face with and the other to make these donuts. I actually used frozen strawberries for these just because they tend to bake a little bit better, but you can feel free to use fresh strawberries and let me know how they turn out!

Baked Strawberry Donuts

Donuts:ย 

-1 c flour
-1/3 c brown sugar
-1 tsp baking powder
-1/4 tsp baking soda
-1 egg
-1/2 stick melted butter
-1/4 c yogurt
-1/4 c milk (I used almond)
-1 tsp vanilla
-1 c fresh or frozen strawberries

Glaze (optional):

-1 c powdered sugar
-Add milk until you get the desired consistency

1. Preheat oven to 350ยฐF
2. Combine the melted butter, sugar, milk, and yogurt.
3. Add in the egg and then the vanilla
4. Mix in the flour, baking powder, and baking soda
5. Chop the strawberries into chunks or slice them and then fold into the batter
6. Spoon the batter into a donut pan (or muffin tin).
7. Bake for 9-11 minutes or until the edges begin to brown. (Bake for about 18-20 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean)
8. Once the donuts cool, coat with glaze.

Baked Strawberry Donuts 3

17 thoughts on “Baked Strawberry Donuts

    • I thought they were quite timely as well! (Even though I had no idea it was almost National Donut Day when I made them haha.) Thanks so much for stopping by!

  1. Visiting from Saturday Night Fever Link Up. I adore strawberries and I’d love one of these right now, they look really yummy! I co-host Sweet and Savoury Sunday and would love for you to stop by and share this and other recipes with us. Have a great day!

  2. Pingback: Fabulous Foodie Fridays #5 - Tomato, Prosciutto & Zucchini Slice - Bake Play Smile

Leave a Reply

