Cheesecake Swirled Brownies

Cheesecake Swirled Brownies Sometimes I’m at a loss when it comes to baking something. Today was one of those days. I decided that hey may as well go through some of the cookbooks we have lying around the house. I remember always looking through this book when I was a kid, but never actually making anything out of it because it seemed almost alien to me in it’s antiqueness. Albeit this book is only from the ’70s so it’s not prehistoric or anything, but as a kid that seemed like the dinosaur era to me. Anyway as I was paging through it I remembered just how kitschy the recipes and illustrations inside were (yep there were illustrations instead of pictures for some things haha). One thing that particularly stuck out to me was the fact that all the recipes called for margarine instead of butter, obviously I didn’t use margarine, but it’s interesting to see how culinary paradigms shift. 

I got into a conversation with my mother about how it was mostly due to marketing that margarine was so popular. It sounded legitimate, but I wanted to fact check it because look at me being all food scholarly (I live for this stuff). I found this cool article about the history of margarine and turns out that there was actually a lot of backlash against it when it first came out. In fact, some states were so adamant about trying to de-popularize the product that they enforced a law requiring all margarine to be dyed a nasty shade of pink. Margarine didn’t become widely accepted in the United States until WWII when there were, unsurprisingly, butter shortages and margarine stood in as a good substitute.

Cheesecake Swirled Brownies

Margarine or not, however, these brownies are awesome! I definitely suggest making them and hey I think it’s pretty cool that vintage recipes can still hold their own today. What do you guys think? Have you tried making any cool vintage recipes? Let me know in the comments!

Cheesecake Swirled Brownies:

Adapted from Homemade Cookies Cookbook 

Brownie Batter:

-1 stick of butter
-1 c semi-sweet chocolate chips
-2 eggs
-1/2 c flour
-1/2 tsp baking powder
-1 tsp vanilla

Cheesecake Filling:

-One 8 oz package of cream cheese
-1 egg
-1/2 c sugar

1. Preheat oven to 350ºF
2. Melt the butter and chocolate chips together in the microwave, stirring after each 30 second interval.
3. Wait for the chocolate mixture to cool and then add the eggs and vanilla.
4. Stir in the flour and baking powder.
5. Pour half the brownie batter into an 8×8 pan and bake for 7 minutes.
6. While the batter is baking mix together the cream cheese, egg, and sugar.
7. Once the brownie comes out of the oven pour the cheesecake mixture over the half-baked brownie.
8. Then cover that layer with the remaining brownie batter.
9. Using a toothpick or knife make cool swirlies and combine the top layers of brownie batter and cheesecake.
10. Bake for 28-32 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.

 

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “Cheesecake Swirled Brownies

  1. ERRRRMMEEEGOOODDDDD!!! Yum!! These look delicious! I am exactly the same as you and often spend whole afternoons flicking through old cookbooks (I particularly love my grandma’s old ones!). Thank you so much for linking up with our Fabulous Foodie Fridays party…. and helping to make it another amazing week of great recipes!! xxx

Leave a Reply

