Zucchini Bread

Zucchini Bread

 

One of my favorite summer foods has got to be zucchini. My mom usually grills it with some olive oil, salt, and pepper. It’s pretty amazing. We actually popularized this recipe in the house last summer when we had way more squash than we knew what to do with. You might think that isn’t possible or that we should be more responsible about our grocery shopping, but that isn’t the case at all.

Let me tell you about the box. That’s right. THE BOX. This box has been the bane of my father’s existence since my mom started getting it. Essentially, the box consists of a bunch of farm fresh fruits and veggies delivered to our house on a weekly basis. Sounds pretty good right? In theory anyway. Here comes the problem. We never actually seem to like what we get in the box. Maybe we’re just misanthropic, but seriously last year we got a deluge of corn. It became a running joke in our house that we were never going to eat corn ever again because we were so damn sick of it. However, it wasn’t just corn that flooded our refrigerator produce bin, we also had a TON of squash. Of course, my mom was hesitant to waste anything in the box so she basically made me responsible for finding a way to use it.

Zucchini Bread

You know me. When told to use an ingredient I go directly for the bag of sugar in the cabinet and use that as a starting point haha. What better way to combine zucchini and sugar than in zucchini bread? Am I right? So yea this bread was born out of desperation and a hyperactive sweet tooth–gotta love it. Even though it has questionable origins, this bread is absolutely delicious, it is moist and cinnamony and if you didn’t know what was in it based on the name you’d never guess it was a vegetable bread.  It’s also super easy and all you need is a bowl, a spoon, and a food processor!

I hope you all have a happy Father’s Day! (Please exercise caution when ordering produce boxes…you never know what might turn up ;).)

Zucchini Bread:

Preheat oven to 350ºF

-2 zucchinis
-3/4 c sugar
-1/2 c vegetable oil
-1 tsp baking powder
-1/2 tsp baking soda
-1 Tbsp cinnamon
-2 eggs
-2 tsp vanilla
-1 1/2 c flour

1.Shred the zucchini in a food processor, there’s no need to peel them.
2. Mix together sugar, vanilla, and oil.
3. Add in the eggs and combine.
4. Slowly add in the flour.
5. Mix in the shredded zucchini.
6. Pour the batter into a greased loaf pan.
7. Bake for 45-50 minutes or until a knife comes out clean.

10 thoughts on “Zucchini Bread

  1. I am not a fan of banana bread, but have never had zucchini bread. I might have to try it sometime. 🙂 I wondered about the produce boxes. I’ve seen a number in our area that are filled with eggplant, and we’re not an eggplant-loving household. 🙂

  2. Mmmm, I love zucchini bread but mine usually goes kinda flat- yours looks perfect! We’ve got a lot growing in the garden (maybe not a LOT, but a moderate amount) so I’ll be trying your recipe!

  3. Zucchini Bread is my favorite! We had a similar predicament at my house last summer. But it was due to the garden and the million zucchinis that grew! I was making quadruple batches and my mom was giving them away to everyone because we had so much!

Leave a Reply

