Fresh Fruit Tart

Fruit Tart *Isn’t it so pretty?! I thought it was pretty so I guess that’s all that counts haha. It’s kind of rare that I make a dessert that’s anything special to look at. At the end of the day, a cookie is just a brown lump with some stuff thrown into it and don’t even get me started on brownies–it’s damn near impossible to make those look good! Anyway, this tart looks awesome in my opinion (and it tastes even better). I’m so modest haha. Something about it seems really summery–maybe because it reminds me of the 4th of July. Happy Summer by the way! 

Fruit Tart 1I’m not going to lie, one of the main reasons that I’m really pleased with myself about how pretty this tart looks is because I’ve always been artistically challenged. I cannot tell you how many times I got pity As in art class because my artwork was so awful that the teacher definitely thought something was wrong with me haha. I remember going to sleep away camp and taking art as an activity because I was a totally lazy kid and didn’t want to do anything that required physical activity. I’m pretty sure that my parents used the really ugly keychains and jewelry I made simply because they felt so terrible about my lack of artistic talent and didn’t want to further offend me. (I kid you not, I have a really, really sad and misshapen bowl/vase thing sitting on my bedside table from my brief foray into pottery.)  After middle school I would never take an art class ever again. I remember my friends telling me that I should take an art class in college to fulfill my creative arts requirement (cue the laughter), but  I decided art history was definitely more my speed haha.

Fruit Tart 3

But yea, the fact that this tart looks as good as it does is a major accomplishment for an artistically challenged baker. Maybe I’ll try to tackle decorating cupcakes next…then again maybe not ;).

Fresh Fruit Tart:

Crust:

*Preheat the oven to 350ºF

-1/2 c granulated sugar
-1 1/2 sticks of butter
-1 tsp vanilla
-1 1/4 c flour

Topping:

-1/2 c fruit preserves/jam
-An assortment of berries or pretty much any fresh fruit

1. Mix together the sugar, butter, flour, and vanilla until a dough forms. It should be slightly sticky.
2. Press the dough into a greased springform pan, or a pan with a removable bottom.
3. Cover the dough with aluminum foil and either pastry weights or some uncooked rice or beans to weigh down the foil.
4. Bake for 15 minutes.
5. Remove the foil and weights/beans.
6. Poke the crust all over with a fork to let out the steam.
7. Bake for an additional 15-20 minutes or until the crust is golden brown.
8. Remove from the oven and allow to cool.
9. Spread the fruit preserves/jam on the crust and then decorate with fresh fruit of choice.

 

8 thoughts on “Fresh Fruit Tart

  1. I think it’s pretty, too! 🙂 Fruit tarts are like my THING in the summertime. I could eat them round the clock! Love that you used a cookie base for the crust! Shortbread & fruit work so well together 🙂 While I’m here, I’d love to invite you to come share your recipe PINS to my Pinterest party. 🙂 You link up your pins & I repin them to a massive group board of active pinners! Here’s this week’s party: http://www.anyonita-nibbles.co.uk/2014/06/10-unconventional-delicious-4th-july-foods.html

    • Thanks so much Anyonita! Fruit tarts are always an awesome dessert choice. I love how they’re not too heavy so I can always justify having a tiny bit more ;). I’ll definitely stop by your party–thank you for the invite!

  2. Holy gorgeous!!! This is absolutely beautiful! My husband would love this – I’m going to make this soon, maybe 4th of July?

  3. I love using fresh fruit in my desserts and this looks absolutely divine! Thank you so much for linking up with our Fabulous Foodie Fridays party and sharing your foodie love around! xx

Leave a Reply

