Chocolate Chip Pie Crust Cookies

Pie Crust Cookies 1

 

I am definitely in the pie crust fan club. Everyone knows that’s the best part of the pie (except my mom, but she’s weird haha). I may or may not be the horrible person who breaks off the crust of anything that gets left in the fridge…never happened. Don’t blame me. Ahem anyway so yea pie crust is pretty much the best thing ever, which is why pie crust cookies and I were destined to be together. I mean seriously if you’re looking for the ideal crust to filling ratio these are the way to go! Ok not gonna lie I also pick the crumble topping off coffee cake…jeez I’m such a bad person. Can you really blame me though? It used to drive my parents crazy especially over Passover when we lived off this kosher for Passover coffee cake and my sisters and I would attack the topping and leave my parents with a pitted mess that was completely devoid of all topping. I can’t be the only one who does this? Does anyone else ruin desserts for other people like me? Please share if you do–it’ll make me feel better haha. 

Pie Crust Cookies 2

These cookies are the perfect little dose of crust, they’re super light and flaky due to my secret ingredient that you can find in the recipe below ;). Also feel free to substitute the chocolate chip filling for fresh fruit or jam although be warned, that will probably ooze out a little bit.

Chocolate Chip Pie Crust Cookies:

-1 1/4 c flour
-1 stick of butter cubed (you want this to be VERY cold, I put mine in the freezer for 2o minutes before using)
-pinch of salt
-2 Tbsp water
-2 Tbsp vodka (this is technically optional, you can just use more water instead, but vodka makes for a very flaky pie crust ;))
-1 egg (for egg wash)
-1 c chocolate chips

1. Put the flour and salt into a food processor and pulse 2-3 times.
2. Add in the cubed butter and pulse until the texture is mealy.
3. Slowly add in the water and the vodka one teaspoon at a time. Keep adding until a tacky dough forms.
4. Wrap the dough in plastic wrap and refrigerate for at least 1 hour.
5. Roll out the dough and then using cookie cutters cut or just the top of a mug, cut out your shapes.
6. Take two of the cut outs and put the chocolate chips on one of them and seal the other piece over the chocolate chips using a fork to crimp the edges of the two dough pieces together.
7. Poke a hole in the top with a fork. Repeat process until no cut outs are left.
8. Beat your egg. Brush the top of each cookie with the egg wash.
9. Bake at 400ºF for 10-12 minutes. Cookies should be golden brown.

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Pie Crust Cookies

  1. Mmmmm, kinda like chocolate croissants but without allllllll the hours of labor. Looks delish! Another winner 🙂

Leave a Reply

