Flourless Chocolate Torte

Flourless Chocolate Torte

 

OMIGOSH Rebecca fell into a black hole and was kidnapped by aliens who put her into an intergalactic zoo! Only kidding. I know it probably seems like that’s what happened to me though. Nope, just in between being in LA and birthday festivities (holy crap I’m finally 20) this post has totally slipped my mind even though I baked this cake AND took pictures a few days ago.

Flourless Chocolate Torte

While I was out in LA, my parents went to Berlin and Amsterdam and brought me home this AMAZING chocolate (both of the baking and eating variety). Anyway so I was trying to figure out what the heck to make with this food of the gods that wasn’t brownies. I swear, before this recipe all I ever made with baking chocolate was brownies. I was tempted to go ahead and make another variation on brownies before I told myself: Rebecca if you make another bowl of brownies you are going to baking hell alongside people who don’t let the oven preheat fully and try to hasten their butter softening process by using the microwave, their own body heat, or a computer power brick. Uh yea. Those people. Psh. What terrible bakers. Who would ever do any of those things? Certainly not me. I don’t want to spend time with people like that in baking hell.

So yea, instead of going to baking hell you should totally make this cake. The chocolate content is ridiculous. Eat it with ice cream or a big glass of milk–you’re going to need it!

Flourless Chocolate Torte:

1 1/2 sticks of butter
12 oz baking chocolate
3/4 c sugar
6 eggs
1/2 tsp vanilla extract

*Preheat the oven to 350ºF

1. Melt the chocolate and butter together microwave in 30 second intervals, mixing periodically until smooth.
2. Using a stand mixer or impressive biceps, beat together the eggs and sugar until the mixture is pale yellow and thick. This will take a few minutes.
3. Fold the egg mixture into the chocolate mixture once the chocolate has mostly cooled.
4. Pour into a 9 inch springform pan and bake for 30-35 minutes or until a toothpick comes out with a few crumbs (not wet batter, crumbs).

2 thoughts on “Flourless Chocolate Torte

  1. Looks delicious, I love chocolate desserts. Thanks for linking up to Sweet and Savoury Sunday, stop by and link up again. Have a great day!!

Leave a Reply

