Blueberry Pound Cake

Blueberry Pound Cake

For those of you who have been following my blog for a while, you’ll know that I have an internship in Brooklyn that requires me to commute through NYC. After this summer I am NEVER going to complain about Boston public transportation again (ok that’s probably a lie, but still). Sure the NYC subway system is just kind of gross and has rats etc., but that isn’t the main problem. The biggest issue with the subway system is the crazies who ride it. Not to say that there aren’t weirdos in Boston, but those people look like nice, upstanding citizens compared to the New Yorkers I’ve encountered. I was inspired to share my subway experience after a particularly amusing encounter on Thursday. 

So I was sitting on the train across from this slovenly guy who was wearing a really revealing tank top that showed his nipple rings. That was strike one. I’m sure he was a nice human being, but I don’t want to see anyone’s nipple rings ever. I guess if that was the only weird thing it wouldn’t have been a bit deal or a story worth sharing, but then a few minutes later he pulls a baggie out of his pocket. A baggie filled with weed. He then takes a slip of paper, rolls himself a blunt (not sure if that’s the right word), and sticks it in his mouth. He just kind of sits on the train with the blunt in his mouth, doesn’t light it or anything, and then casually walks off the train at the next stop. What. The. Heck!? I just kind of sat there scratching my head for a while.

Does anyone else have any weird subway/public transit stories worth sharing?

Blueberry Pound Cake

Anyway, moving on, so technically this isn’t a ‘legit’ pound cake. It doesn’t have a pound of butter, eggs, and sugar, plus it’s got some errant yogurt lurking around in the ingredients list. So sue me. It still tastes delicious and it’s your choice if you want to miss out!

Blueberry Pound Cake

-2 sticks of butter
-1 1/2 c sugar
-2 eggs & 1 egg yolk
-1 1/2 c flour
-1/2 tsp baking powder
-1/2 c plain yogurt
-2 tsp vanilla
-2 c blueberries

*Preheat the oven to 350ºF

1.Cream together butter, sugar, and vanilla
2. Mix in the eggs (and yolk) and the yogurt
3. Mix in the flour and baking powder until combined.
4. Fold in the blueberries
5. Pour the batter into a greased loaf pan.
6. Bake for 50-60 minutes or until a knife comes out with only a few moist crumbs. If the top starts to get too brown then cover it with aluminum foil for the remainder of the baking time.

8 thoughts on “Blueberry Pound Cake

  1. This sounds delicious Rebecca. Scary story about the subway – you’d have needed a tasty cake pick-me-up after that experience (or a stiff drink). As we don’t have sticks of butter in Australia, I’ll have to check what they’re equivalent to, and then I’ll be giving this one a try.

    • Thanks so much Anne! And I know right!? I was totally weirded out. I’m not sure what you use to measure butter in Australia, but 2 sticks is equivalent to 1 cup of butter–hope that helps. Definitely let me know how you like the cake :).

  2. Ahh the joys of public transport, at least it makes for interesting stories haha. Your pound cake looks scrumptious!

  3. That looks delicious, I love the shade of it. Thanks for linking up to Sweet and Savoury Sunday, stop by and link up again. Have a great day!!

Leave a Reply

