Strawberry Pie Bars

Strawberry Pie Bars

Struggles of Rebecca’s food photography: everything. Struggles increase: sun’s going down. All things considered I’m shocked I managed to make these in time. See the problem is, I like to bake at night or in the late afternoon, but then by the time I try to take pictures, whatever I’ve made is either totally mangled (I’m looking at you family), or simply doesn’t look as good as it did the day before. And we all know pictures taken under artificial light look like crap. Or at least I haven’t gotten the hang of it. Any tips? Cue the scramble to take a picture before the sun goes down. You probably wouldn’t be able to guess (or maybe you would), but it was actually almost 7:00 pm when I took this picture, gotta love summer. I’m actually terrified for the winter when I’m going to have to try to take pictures before 4:00 pm or I’m totally screwed.

Strawberry Pie Bars

 

As a general rule, food photography and I tend to not get along. I like to fight with my camera and the stuff I make is generally not photogenic–curse all of you other food bloggers who somehow make gorgeous desserts! This leads to me putting up photos that I’m not satisfied with, mainly because I’m tired and don’t want to try to take another picture from a different angle in hopes that it’ll look better (it almost never does). Then sometimes I get lucky. Yep. These pie bars were lucky. They actually took decent pictures without too much work–I think it’s the strawberries, somehow all my strawberry desserts look much prettier than anything else I post…I considered only making strawberry desserts for a brief second there. Never fear…I don’t like strawberries that much haha. I did like these bars that much. Usually I’m pretty good with portion control (otherwise I’d weigh a million pounds from all the desserts I make), but I definitely went back for seconds with these ;).

Strawberry Pie Bars:

Adapted from Averie Cooks

Crust:

-1 stick of butter melted
-3/4 c brown sugar
-1 1/2 c flour
-1/2 tsp vanilla

Filling:

-1 egg
-1/2 c  Greek yogurt or sour cream
-1 tsp vanilla
-1/4 cup flour (+ 2 Tbsp if using frozen berries)
-2 1/2 c diced strawberries (fresh or frozen work)
-1/2 c granulated sugar
-2 tsp cornstarch
-2 Tbsp orange juice

1. Preheat oven to 375ºF
2. Mix together the ingredients for the crust until has the texture of wet sand.
3. Press the mixture into a 8×8 greased pan, but reserve some of the crumble to use as a topping.
4. Combine the egg, yogurt, vanilla, sugar, orange juice, and corn starch.
5. Fold in the strawberries.
6. Pour the mixture evenly over the crust and sprinkle the remaining crumble on top.
7. Bake for 15-20 minutes or until the topping is golden brown and the filling is firm.

5 thoughts on “Strawberry Pie Bars

  1. Pingback: Carrot, Walnut and Chia Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

Leave a Reply

