Roasted Sweet Potato Bread

Sweet Potato Bread

 

So I’ve started to see pumpkin recipes going up on Pinterest and on other blogs. In my opinion, there’s nothing strictly wrong with that, and as a fellow pumpkin lover, who am I to judge? That doesn’t mean, however, that I’m ready to take the leap. Something about baking with pumpkin in August seems semi sacrilegious. I adore pumpkin, we’re totally bffs, but I don’t want to see it in my desserts until at least mid September. Anyway, that’s just me. In that case, why not find a happy medium? My parents and I have a huge pumpkin bread bake every year, we probably bake 50+ breads each year and give them away to friends and family. And that’s not including the breads that ‘accidentally’ get eaten instead of wrapped and given away ;). After November I pretty much had pumpkin bread coming out of my ears, at least I did when I still lived at home. I decided to use that recipe as a base and tweak it just a little bit to accommodate the more mild sweet potato flavor. Basically this bread is crazy delicious. 

Sweet Potato Bread

My dad loves to rate my desserts on the A-F scale and this one got a solid A- from him so that’s a winner in my book! Seriously though, I’m not sure when it started, but he’s been rating things that I’ve done ever since I was a little kid. It used to drive me absolutely insane because he would try to annoy me by giving me low ratings on my performances (I used to sing opera when I was younger). Of course he never was serious, but it used to make me so mad. Now I just laugh at him since I know he’s pretty much just trolling me. Gotta love parents!

Roasted Sweet Potato Bread:

-2 medium roasted sweet potatoes (mashed)
-1 1/2 c granulated sugar
-1/2 c vegetable oil
-1/3 c buttermilk or plain yogurt
-1 2/3 c flour
-2 eggs
-1/4 tsp baking powder
-1 tsp baking soda
-1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
-1/2 tsp nutmeg

1. Roast two sweet potatoes in the oven at 450ºF for about 1 hour.
2. Cut open the potatoes and take out their guts (basically just scoop out the inside of the potatoes haha)
3. Mash the potatoes and add in the sugar, oil, and buttermilk.
4. Combine with the eggs, cinnamon, and nutmeg.
5. Mix in the baking powder and soda.
6. Mix in the flour.
7. Pour the batter into a greased loaf pan.
8. Bake at 350ºF for 50-60 minutes or until a knife comes out clean. If the bread starts getting too browned, cover with foil for the remainder of the baking time.

4 thoughts on “Roasted Sweet Potato Bread

  1. I’m feeling the same way as you about the pumpkin 🙂 It’s just too darn hot! I’ve never thought of sweet potato bread- looks amazing; I’ll add it to my “must try” recipes!!!

  2. I’m with you: I haven’t pulled out the pumpkin in my kitchen yet! It’s still too early… BUT, I do love the stuff and I can’t wait for fall. In the meantime, this bread looks amazing too! Pinned!

Leave a Reply

