Creamy Cinnamon Rice Pudding

Creamy Cinnamon Rice Pudding

Dorm life story: this morning I was awakened at 8:30 am by someone singing next door. I mean if it’s any condolence, they didn’t have a terrible voice, but seriously? Why are you singing at 8:30 in the morning!? Being the horrible person that I am, I decided to try to bang on our shared wall to signal said person that they should shut the *bleep* up, but turns out the walls are actually pretty thick and my banging made hardly any noise. Cue my frustration and resignation. Moral of story: DON’T SING AT 8:30 AM, unless you live in your own house, that is. If you live in your own house without wall-sharing neighbors then feel free to sing your little heart out haha.

Creamy Cinnamon Rice Pudding

Anyway, so the fact that I was up at an ungodly (for a college student) hour, I decided to make rice pudding for breakfast because why not? I mean I’d been planning to make rice pudding for a while and since we had a giant bag of rice lying around, I wanted to put it to good use. On a side note, I really shouldn’t be complaining about waking up early seeing as my roommate wakes up at 5 am for crew–I have no idea how she does it, but kudos to her. I am not a human being until at least 9:30, preferably 10 am.

Creamy Cinnamon Rice Pudding

Have you ever been to Rice to Riches in NYC? It’s crazy good and they have an insane assortment of flavors, but after making this recipe, I discovered something interesting–I prefer my rice pudding warm instead of chilled. Is that weird? Eh maybe I’m weird haha. Well this rice pudding is amazing any way you choose to enjoy it, but for those impatient souls like me warm is definitely the right choice ;).

Creamy Cinnamon Rice Pudding:

-3/4 c rice (white rice is best, brown rice tends to get kind of chewy)
-1 1/2 c water
-2 c milk (I used vanilla almond milk)
-1/3 c brown sugar
-2 eggs (beaten)
-2 Tbsp butter
-1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
-1/4 tsp nutmeg

1. Pour the 1 1/2 c of water into a medium saucepan and bring to a rolling boil.
2. Add in the 3/4 c rice and turn heat to low. Put the lid on and let cook for 20 minutes.
3. Mix in 1 1/2 c milk, sugar, cinnamon, and nutmeg. Let cook on medium heat for about 15 minutes until thick and creamy. Leave the lid off or it will boil over.
4. Pour in the beaten eggs and butter and cook for an additional 5 minutes.
5. Remove from burner and either transfer to the fridge or let it sit and cool before digging in.

2 thoughts on “Creamy Cinnamon Rice Pudding

  1. Yum! I love having oats for breakfast but tis will be a lovely change! And anything with cinnamon in it is a winner for me! Thanks so much for linking up with our Fabulous Foodie Fridays party. Happy Friday xxx

Leave a Reply

