Apple Pie Muffins

Apple Pie Muffins

So I don’t usually apologize for desserts, but I really do need to make amends for this one. In my defense, I have a really good logic for this one that I actually came up with post-creating, but it totally still counts. What does a moderately lactose intolerant, probably shouldn’t be eating so much sugar, with a stomach that definitely does not respond well to apples person create when they’re trying to make a dessert that they should in no way be eating? Well, my friends, she made apple muffins. With ice cream. I know what you’re thinking–oh so she made muffins and then put ice cream on top of it when they were done. Isn’t that what people always do with apple pie? Good thinking, but no. That’s not what I did…

Apple Pie Muffins

This is why I need to apologize. I put ice cream in my apple muffins. Yes, in the batter with the oil, sugar, and muffiny goodness. I am a horrible person for doing this to you because the muffins were freaking amazing. #NOREGRETS (ok only a few). I like to think that because all the dairy gets spread out pretty thin, it’s less likely to hurt my stomach ;). I couldn’t come up with a good justification for the apples, but maybe baking them and covering them in sugar makes them ok. Regardless, you should try these muffins–you can use plain old boring yogurt if the ice cream isn’t your thing (but you’ll never know if you don’t try it…). Has anyone else ever subbed something nontraditional into a recipe and had it turn out amazing? Let me know in the comments!

Apple Pie Muffins:

-1 c flour
-3/4 c sugar
-2/3 c vegetable oil
-2 tsp cinnamon
-1/4 tsp nutmeg
-1 tsp baking soda
-1/2 tsp baking powder
-1/4 tsp salt
-2 eggs beaten
-1/3 c vanilla ice cream (yogurt)
-2 apples (not red or yellow delicious) peeled and chopped

1. Preheat oven to 350°F
2. Mix together sugar, oil, eggs, nutmeg, and cinnamon.
3. Add in the vanilla ice cream. It should be slightly melted, but not a puddle.
4. Stir in the flour, baking powder, and baking soda until combined. Don’t mix the hell out of your batter or the muffins will be tough.
5. Fold in the chopped apples.
6. Spoon the batter into a greased muffin tin and bake for 11-14 minutes until the muffins are golden brown and a toothpick comes out clean.

 

6 thoughts on “Apple Pie Muffins

  1. Ohhh I like the idea of using ice cream in the batter, it sounds so good! I’d even put more ice cream on the top but hey, I’m greedy 🙂

Leave a Reply

