Oatmeal Cookie Apple Pie

 

Oatmeal cookie apple pie

Ok this was taken with my phone so excuse the quality.

 

 

Guess what! I’m alive and I baked you a pie. Ok fine, technically I baked the pie for my family at Thanksgiving, but you can pretend that I love you or whatever makes you happy. Sorry I’ve been so out of commission! First off I was really sick with some virus for about two weeks, so that whacked me out for a while and then I’ve also been crazy busy with life and school and everything. Agh so many things to do and definitely not enough time. -_-. Anyway so I’ll try to stick to the food front of things, although I have another Rebecca’s Ratchet College Adventures story to share probably in my next post so there’s that. Also I found a professor to work with me on an independent study for next semester! I am going to be doing a study on the history of dessert culture! So excited! 😀

On a side note, I was reading another baking blog the other day and I found a food blogger who doesn’t know how to spell ‘dessert’ she kept spelling it ‘desert’ and I was like *face palm* failure. Just remember that it’s like ‘desert’, but with two ‘ss’ because it’s twice as sweet ;). Not gonna lie I learned that in a cafe when I was like 8 because they had it written on a cute poster on the wall. But hey whatever works right?

Oatmeal Cookie Apple Pie

So just like dessert, this pie is twice as sweet because you don’t have to go through the hassle of trying to perfect a traditional pie crust. Pie crusts are almost as bad as working with yeast! It’s way too easy to accidentally screw up. I will warn you, there are a lot of steps involved, but it’s actually super easy to make if you have a solid hour or so for prep time. It’s totally worth it :).

Oatmeal Cookie Apple Pie

For the Oat Cookie:
Adapted from the Momofuko Milk Bar ‘Crack Pie’ Crust

-1 stick of salted butter
-1/3 c brown sugar
-3 Tbsp granulated sugar
-1/2 tsp vanilla
-1 egg yolk
-1/2 c flour
-1 1/2 c rolled oats
-1/8 tsp baking powder
-1/8 tsp baking soda

1. Cream together butter and sugars
2. Add in the vanilla
3. Separate the egg and add in the yolk
4. Combine flour, oats, baking powder, and baking soda
5. Mix the dry ingredients into the wet until you have a cohesive dough.
6. Spread the dough out flat on a baking pan like one big cookie
7. Bake at 350 for 12-15 minutes or until the cookie is firm in the center and brown around the edges
8. Allow to cool

To Make the Actual Crust:
(Also from Momofuko)

-1 Tbsp brown sugar
1/2 stick salted butter, melted

1. Crumble up the Oat Cookie and add the melted butter and brown sugar.
2. Use your hands to crumble up the cookie, butter and, sugar together until it has the consistency of wet sand.
3. Press 1/2-2/3 of the mixture (depending on how big your pan is) into the bottom of  a pie pan and save the rest to use as topping

For the Apple Filling:

-4-5 medium apples
-Juice of half a lemon
-2/3 c sugar
-1 1/2 Tbsp cornstarch
-1 1/2 tsp cinnamon

1. Peel and slice the apples or chop them, whatever works and put them into a bowl
2.  Squeeze the lemon juice over the apples
3. Add in sugar, cornstarch, and cinnamon and then mix all the ingredients together until well combined.
4. Spread the apple mixture over the pie crust and then cover with the remaining oat cookie mixture.
5. Bake at 350 for 35-45 minutes or until the apples start to bubble inside the pie. You may need to cover it with aluminum foil if the topping starts to get too brown.

 

2 thoughts on “Oatmeal Cookie Apple Pie

  1. First of all, I’m so glad you’re back! Second of all, you make me laugh like no other food blogger does! Third, this looks amazing. I have been making crusts for apple pies this year and while they taste fine, they look awful. This looks great and I bet it tastes amazing!

    • Aww! Thanks so much Melissa, that really means a lot to me :). Apple pies are such a pain in the ass with the traditional crust. I certainly don’t have the patience for all that ice water, frozen butter and the necessary crust transferring ninja skills.

Leave a Reply

