Soft Chocolate Chip Shortbread Cookies

Chocolate Chip Shortbread

 

Omigosh you guys happy holidays!! I didn’t fall off the world again, although I was in backwoods Michigan for a while so that counts right? Haha only kidding, although it was quite an experience.

I hope everyone had a wonderful whatever December holiday you celebrate! I’m looking forward to the new year how about you? However, in preparation for the new year I would like to tell you another Rebecca’s College Adventures story in hopes that maybe this will be the last one and I can start being a grown up or something? Maybe? I’ll try my best!

So here’s my story for you: not only am I a genius at hacking my laundry and various other collegiate activities, but I am also a klutz. If the air has one misplaced molecule, I will trip over it. So Josh was over at my apartment a few weeks ago and I was running around doing whatever I was doing and somehow manage to smash my toe against my desk chair. I’m pretty good with stubbed toes, we’re pretty much best friends at this point since we spend so much time together, but this one was not getting better. Nope. It puffed up like a balloon and had me incapacitated for the night.

Chocolate Chip Shortbread 2

 

Usually one ices a banged up toe correct? Well what happens if you’re an ill-equipped college student with no ice packs? Isn’t it obvious? You use frozen bags of chocolate chips as a substitute and when those are no longer cold, you move onto a package of frozen veggie burgers…and so on and so forth…until basically you’ve exhausted all the frozen packaged food in the freezer that is actually yours because using your roommate’s would be a total jerk move.

Suffice it to say those chocolate chips ended up in these cookies. Never fear, they were covered in a nice layer of plastic so none of my foot germs were present in the cookies. I have SOME standards! 😄

Even better, these cookies are so incredibly easy, I know I say that about everything, but what’s a lazy college baker to do? Life is hard sometimes, but these are stupidly easy. I would trust Josh to make them, that’s how easy they are haha. Plus you can probably even make them with a banged up toe. What more could you ask for?

Soft Chocolate Chip Shortbread Cookies:

-2 sticks of butter (one melted and the other softened)
-1/2 c sugar
-2 c flour
-1 tsp vanilla or other flavoring of choice
-1/2 c chocolate chips

1. Mix the sugar and softened stick of butter together until combined.
2. Start to mix in the flour and then slowly add in the melted stick of butter until a soft dough forms.
3. Add in your flavorings and chocolate chips
4. Refrigerate dough for at least 1-2 hours.
5. Bake at 350 for 8-10 minutes or until the cookies are golden brown around the edges

 

2 thoughts on “Soft Chocolate Chip Shortbread Cookies

  1. Rebecca, I love your stories! Keep them coming! Hope you are catching up on your sleep- and your toe is getting better quickly. Happy 2015; can’t wait to see what new adventures- in baking and in life- you find.

    • Thanks Melissa! I’m definitely catching up on sleep–yesterday my mom freaked out because I didn’t wake up until 2 pm haha. I think I’m becoming quasi-nocturnal. I hope you had a wonderful new year and that all of your projects are going well!

Leave a Reply

