Pumpkin Spice Bundt Cake

Pumpkin Spice Bundt CakeDoes it make me a bad person if I refused to make anything pumpkin until the pumpkin recipe blogging phase died down? Seriously I didn’t want to be just one of a zillion pumpkin recipes online at the same time, so now that it’s 2015 and no one else is blogging about it, let’s break out the squash!

So this is the first time I’ve posted a full-size bundt cake on my blog and the second time I’ve baked one in general. So far I’ve gotten lucky with them, but I know they can be a pain in the ass to get out of the pan (I’ve seen other bloggers have disasters with them). Seriously though the key to getting a bundt out in one piece is to wait until it cools and then pray to the baking gods that it comes out. Throughout my baking career I’ve also learned other magical tricks to get things done in the kitchen. The problem is some of them only work when I’m baking at home and not in one of my apartments at school.

Pumpkin Spice Bundt Cake

This particular magic trick I’m referring to is called: Make All the Dirty Dishes Disappear. Here’s how it works. First, you have to make a really big mess in the kitchen while making this cake. Next, you have to half-heartedly clean up most of the stuff, but mainly just throw it into the sink. After that, send a well-timed text message to your wonderful father and tell him that you left a present for him in the sink. Trust me, if he’s anything like my dad, he’ll know what you’re talking about. Then leave the dishes alone and sort of scrub at the countertops so they at least look clean. Here’s the hard part. You have to go upstairs and wait around on Netflix for a few hours and next time you look in the sink all the dishes will magically have been washed and put away!

Disclaimer: do not try this if you live alone or have a dad who doesn’t put up with you making messes in his kitchen. This will also work if you have a significant other who likes cleaning/hates messy kitchens/loves you a lot (cough Josh you should do all the dishes cough).

Pumpkin Spice Bundt Cake

But yea. Even if you have to do your own dishes you should still make this cake. It’s moist and delicious and I’m totally addicted to it. I was going to include a full photo of the cake…but it didn’t survive long enough for me to do so haha.

Pumpkin Spice Bundt Cake:

Adapted from The Pumpkin Cookbook 

-1 c pumpkin puree
-1/2 c plain Greek yogurt
-3/4 c milk (any kind will work)
-2 eggs
-1 stick of butter
-1 1/4 c granulated sugar
-1/2 tsp salt
-2 1/4 c flour
-1 Tbsp baking powder
-1/2 tsp baking soda
-1 tsp nutmeg
-2 tsp cinnamon
-1/2 tsp ground cloves

1. Cream together butter and sugar
2. Mix in milk, pumpkin puree, yogurt, and eggs
3. Put salt, flour, and baking powder & soda in a separate bowl and mix until everything is combined
4. Slowly add the flour mixture into the wet ingredients and mix until smooth
5. Add in the nutmeg, cinnamon, and cloves–you know the drill
6. Pour the batter into a well-greased bundt pan
7. Bake the cake for 45-50 minutes or until a knife comes out clean
8. Wait until the cake cools and then run a knife around the edges before attempting to take it out. To take it out you need to flip the pan over and let it come out onto a plate. If you’re still having trouble, here’s a helpful link.
9. Sprinkle with powdered sugar and enjoy once out of the pan.

2 thoughts on “Pumpkin Spice Bundt Cake

  1. This looks so moist and delicious! I don’t blame you for waiting until the pumpkin craze died down a bit…but that said, I don’t understand why people are only gaga for pumpkin in the fall and not in the winter. I need warm, spicy baked goods just as much (if not more) in the winter!

    • Thanks Cakepants! And seriously, pumpkin is great to eat in the middle of winter. I’ve always found it bizarre that some things are arbitrarily considered to be ‘seasonal’. If someone wants to eat pumpkin and peppermint (probably not together though haha) in the middle of July then they should feel free to do so!

Leave a Reply

