Barbecue Chicken Quesadillas

Barbecue Chicken Quesadillas

Who’s ready for Juno? Uh not me. You’d think that after three Boston winters and ten years of living on the east coast I’d be used to the winter and the snow, but it hasn’t happened yet. Josh makes fun of me since he’s from all the way up in Wisconsin so this stuff is nothing to him. Psh. Sometimes I think he just says things like that to annoy me. Anyway, so I’ve never understood why everyone goes to the market and stocks up on food like the apocalypse is coming. You know what I did? I filled my Brita pitcher and bought some granola bars. Come at me, Juno, I’m ready. Here’s to hoping my grandparents don’t read this post and have an aneurism. Seriously I remember when I was home alone during Sandy a few years back and my grandparents freaked and came over to buy me a zillion provisions. Given, Sandy was pretty awful, but I definitely didn’t need four cases of water. 

So anyway. I’m going to sit in bed and drink hot chocolate and thank the weather gods for giving me a day off to procrastinate on my homework. And to all you suckers who still think it’s fun to play in the snow–hehe don’t get frostbite ;).

I’m also going to enjoy the free time I have to spend cooking tomorrow–provided the power stays on. I know, it’s Dorm Room Baker, but well I have a few other savory recipes on here and I’m going to start adding to the collection.

Believe it or not, I do eat real people food. I don’t just sit around and eat cookies and cake all day, maybe if I had a better metabolism and cavity-proof teeth I would, but that doesn’t seem to be the case. So that means I have to cook instead of just bake. Sure I could eat ramen all the time (finals week) or frozen veggie burgers from Trader Joe’s (life happens) all the time, but pretty sure that isn’t good for me and my mom would probably be mad that I was wasting my grocery budget. Thus meet barbecue chicken quesadillas. It’s a stupidly easy recipe that’s totally delicious and filling and you can totally get away with even if you’re a little bit lactose intolerant like me…oops?

Barbecue Chicken Quesadillas

So I actually would never have come up with this recipe of my own accord. It was born due to Josh’s unrelenting love affair with barbecue sauce. Seriously, the guy puts it on EVERYTHING. It’s like how I was with ketchup when I was a teenager. Ok, admittedly I still have a soft spot for ketchup, but I’m not nearly as bad as him.

 

Barbecue Chicken Quesadillas:

(Yield 3 quesadillas)

-1 cooked chicken breast
-3-5 Tbsp of barbecue sauce
-1 c. shredded mozzarella cheese
-6 full-sized tortillas (flour, corn, whatever you want)
-cooking spray or butter
-1/2 c sautéed/caramelized onions (optional)

1. Cut your cooked chicken breast into bite sized pieces and marinate in the barbecue sauce for at least 30 minutes in the refrigerator.
2. When your chicken is done marinating, spray a pan with cooking spray or heat the pan and melt butter until the bottom of the pan is coated.
3. Once the pan is hot, put down your first tortilla.
4. Cover the tortilla with a thin layer of cheese.
5. Wait until the cheese is melty and cover it with a layer of the marinated chicken and then the onions if you choose to use them, and then another layer of cheese.
6. Cover with the second tortilla and wait until the second layer of cheese has melted a bit before flipping the whole thing with a spatula.
7. Cook evenly on both sides until the tortillas are both golden brown.
8. Remove from the pan and cut the quesadilla into pieces. You can then eat it plain or serve it with more barbecue sauce or any other dip of your choice.

 

6 thoughts on “Barbecue Chicken Quesadillas

  1. Another post that leaves me with a smile. I lived in Boston during Hurricane Sandy and the following winter. It was such an interesting experience to go to the store and see everything gone- the meat, the milk- I didn’t know WHAT to think. So I acted like the natives and bought too much stuff and went home and ate and read and blogged 🙂 Hope the power stays on!

    • Josh and I were at the market a few days ago and everything was totally cleaned out! I’ll never understand why bread of all things. Seriously, if I’m stuck inside all day why the heck am I going to want to eat tons of plain bread!? The power luckily stayed on so we didn’t have too much trouble with Juno.

Leave a Reply

