Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookie Pancakes

Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Pancakes

Ok let’s be honest. These pancakes are essentially dessert. Sure you can lie to yourself (I totally will) and say that they’re breakfast, but we all know that they’re not fooling anyone. Anyway since I’m snowed in, I decided that I should make dessert pancakes for lunch and eat them without any regrets. In reference to my dessertfast (sounds better than breakssert) intake, I actually have a hilarious story to share. 

So my mom was kind of a dessert dictator when we were kids (or at least we felt that way). In retrospect she wasn’t that  bad and we came out better for it, but at the time she seemed like a downright control freak. Essentially we were allowed one ‘treat’ a day and three on Fridays. Sounds fair to me. Anyway, apparently we weren’t the only ones who thought that our mom was a dessert fascist…

Last month, my mom was out in California visiting her parents for a few days with my sisters and the extended family also came over for a get-together. When it came to dessert time, one of my aunts basically offered dessert to my mom or sisters with the caveat that, “I know that you don’t normally eat dessert…” because she was under the impression that my family didn’t eat dessert at all. My mom then asked her what the hell she thought I was doing on my blog. Clearly my aunt doesn’t read it because she thought it was a healthy dessert blog. ROFLMAO.

Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Pancakes

Now correct me if I’m wrong, but I think I have maybe one or two healthy recipes on here if even. Not to mention the fact that my sisters and I are 20, 18, and 15–my mom hasn’t had any jurisdiction over what we eat in probably five or six years. Which means that if I want to eat cookie pancakes for some weird meal at two in the afternoon then that’s what I’m going to do.

Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Pancakes

In all honesty I should probably try to post more healthy recipes, but there’s three feet of snow outside so I’m using today to procrastinate on everything, including good life choices in general ;).

Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookie Pancakes

Adapted from Joy the Baker 

-2 eggs (beaten)
-1 c quick oats
-1 1/2 c flour
-2 Tbsp brown sugar
-1 tsp baking soda
-1/2 tsp salt
-1 tsp cinnamon
-1/4 tsp nutmeg
-2 c milk (I used almond milk)
-4 Tbsp melted butter
-3/4 c chocolate chips

1. Mix together the milk, eggs, sugar, and butter.
2. Stir in the cinnamon and nutmeg.
3. Combine the flour, oatmeal, salt, and baking powder in a separate bowl and then add to the wet ingredients. Whisk everything together.
4. Mix in the chocolate chips.
5. Cook the pancakes on a greased skillet (you can use butter or cooking spray)
6. Serve with maple syrup or top with more chocolate chips!

4 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookie Pancakes

  1. Haha I love that!! There’s nothing wrong with mid afternoon dessert. Nothing at all!!! These sound amazing (and I’d totally qualify them as breakfast food!). Thanks for joining our Fabulous Foodie Fridays party! xx

  2. If I was snowed in I would eat dessertfast 3 meals a day. I got really hung up on the fact that I dont do kale or smoothly recipes and i dont replace eggs with egg re-placer or butter with coconut but I have gotten over it. You should too. There is nothing wrong with chocolate chip pancakes

    • Haha I like the way you think! I think I’m also totally over the healthifying stuff if I’m stuck indoors all day may as well eat my fill of buttery chocolate chip pancakes :).

Leave a Reply

