Baked Tortilla Chips and Salsa

Chips and Salsa 1

I hate spicy food. I am a total wimp. Seriously, when I was a kid I couldn’t even eat peppermints because I thought they were ‘spicy’. Now that I’m older, I know that ‘strong’ is probably a better adjective, but as a kid all I could think about was the way my mouth felt after that and I was not happy. Then sometimes I would try my dad’s food at restaurants and as soon as my eyes started watering and nose started running I was done. Sometimes when Josh and I go out to eat now he’ll dare me to take a bit of whatever he ordered and then taunt me until I finally give in and try it. Isn’t it the definition of insanity to do the same thing over and over again, expecting different results? I guess I must be a huge masochist then since I always end up giving in to him and tasting some of his mouth-scorching food. He thinks it’s hilarious. Me, not so much. 

Is it a genetic thing to like spicy food? I know my mom doesn’t like it either, but I’m not sure about my sisters. Hmm that would be interesting to find out. Maybe it’s just because my dad is old and all his taste buds are dead XD. Not sure how to explain Josh though.

Anyway, I will not be making spicy food on this blog, sad to say. So, neither the salsa nor the tortilla chips are spicy at all! You could totally make spicy salsa if that’s your thing, but I’m a mild kind of girl. If you want to induce hellfire in your mouth, do so at your own risk. I take no responsibility for any burned tongues or ear smoke haha.

Chips and Salsa 2

These chips happened because sometimes you buy groceries with the intent of using them, but not for anything specific. That’s what left me stuck with a ton of tortillas that I never got around to using. Cue the tortilla chips! This recipe is perfect to serve at a party or just to eat any time. And it’s so stupidly easy, but seems kind of fancy and impressive so you can make everyone think you’re a kitchen boss. That’s right ;).

Baked Tortilla Chips and Salsa

For the chips:

-6 medium tortillas (flour, corn, whatever will work)
-Olive oil
-Salt (I used garlic salt for extra flavor)

1. Cut the tortillas into wedges (pick your favorite chip size)
2. Brush both sides of the tortilla wedges with olive oil and place on a sheet pan covered in foil
3. Sprinkle the wedges with salt
4. Bake at 300º for 10-15 minutes or until the chips are golden brown

For the salsa:

-5 medium tomatoes
-1 large red onion
-Salt
-1 tsp lime juice (optional)

1. Chop the tomatoes and onions
2. Mix them together in a bowl
3. Season to taste with salt and lime juice

2 thoughts on “Baked Tortilla Chips and Salsa

Leave a Reply

