Maple Cookie Bark

 

Maple Sugar Cookie Bark

Hey guys. I’m alive. Hooray! Haha. In seriousness though, it’s been a crazy semester. I’ve officially been promoted to the ranks of second semester college senior! I know you’re probably thinking, hey wait a second, Rebecca weren’t you just a college junior like 2 weeks ago. If so then you would be correct! I’m graduating a year early. THANK YOU AP CREDITS. The registrar officially has me down as a graduating senior which means I can claim hardcore senioritis with complete legitimacy now. Let’s momentarily forget about the fact that I have a final exam and three more final papers as well as a summer program to complete before I can actually celebrate. Shh…I won’t tell my senioritis if you don’t haha. 

Cookie Bark 2

In other news, Josh has accepted a position at a prestigious university in Boston for graduate school so we will be duking it out for at least another five New England winters…I don’t know if I have the strength. May the snow gods have mercy -_-. Anyway as for me, I’m honestly not sure what I’m doing post-grad yet. That is after Josh and I get back from a yearlong stint in Japan. He’s doing research and I’m *fingers-crossed* going to try to get a position teaching English! In all honesty though it’s probably going to end up with me lying around and eating sushi and ramen all day until I burst. Such a problem.

In order to survive the impending Boston winters, I will have to hunker down and enjoy pan after pan of this cookie bark. It’s that good people. I’m usually a chewy cookie fan, but I can’t seem to tear myself away from the bark.  And it’s so, so easy. I mean yea it’s spring, but it’s been raining all week so that’s as good an excuse as any to stay indoors and bake!

Maple Cookie Bark

1 stick of butter
3/4 c granulated sugar
1 Tbsp pure maple syrup (none of that artificial crap)
1 c flour
2 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 c sprinkles (optional)

1. Melt the butter in a saucepan or in the microwave until just melted and then stir in the sugar.
2. Add in the vanilla and maple syrup.
3. Combine with the baking powder and flour (and sprinkles).
4. Spread the dough on a greased baking sheet (a cookie sheet). It should cover most of the, if not the entire, standard cookie sheet.
5. Bake at 375 for 5 minutes and then turn the heat down to 325 for another 10 minutes or until the whole sheet is golden brown.
6. Allow to cool completely before breaking into pieces. You can cut it uniformly as well, but that takes away all the fun ;).

2 thoughts on “Maple Cookie Bark

  1. Its good to see that the Boston winter has not in any way warped your wonderful sense of humor which only your loving grandparents can appreciate. Remember, we grew up with you, anyway, we still LOVE you.

Leave a Reply

